Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] menu button

OP Just2Cause

23rd April 2014, 04:16 AM   |  #1  
Just2Cause's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Doha, Qatar
Thanks Meter: 84
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Hello


I would like to know which lines should I change in SystemUI.apk so that the menu button is permanently showing in the navbar?
23rd April 2014, 05:24 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 586
 
3,082 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Are you wanting to know because you prefer to know the coding behind it or just that you would prefer to be able to control the position? If you want the easier way, it would be to install the Xposed Framework and a module like Gravity Box. From what I have read, it's a huge hassle to edit everything needed to get this to work right. You might find some helpful info here: http://android-developers.blogspot.c...nu-button.html about how this stuff is implemented in code. Unless you really just wanna figure it out for the sake of figuring it out and learning, go with the Xposed mod. Alternative, you could look into http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2270198
The Following User Says Thank You to es0tericcha0s For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2014, 11:51 AM   |  #3  
Just2Cause's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Doha, Qatar
Thanks Meter: 84
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
@es0tericcha0s

I would like to edit the SystemUI.apk to make it permanently show the menu button, and I don't want to use xposed as the only xposed module I found that shows the menu button is gravity box and I actually don't like it so I don't want to use it, would prefer to do it manually & permanently.
23rd April 2014, 02:05 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 13
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Donate to Me
More
Prompt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just2Cause

@es0tericcha0s

I would like to edit the SystemUI.apk to make it permanently show the menu button, and I don't want to use xposed as the only xposed module I found that shows the menu button is gravity box and I actually don't like it so I don't want to use it, would prefer to do it manually & permanently.

It is actually easy to show the navigation bar permanently. You just add three lines to the build.prop file (make sure you make a backup before editing it!!).
I replied to a question like yours here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2&postcount=17 (check this thread, it will be very useful).
Just add the " qemu.hw.mainkeys=0 " line to the bottom of the build.prop file, save, and reboot. If it didn't work then try " ro.show.navigationbar=0 ".

And check this thread too: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2032117

P.S: This is editing the build.prop file, not SystemUI.apk.
23rd April 2014, 03:37 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 586
 
3,082 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AAbounegm

It is actually easy to show the navigation bar permanently. You just add three lines to the build.prop file (make sure you make a backup before editing it!!).
I replied to a question like yours here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2&postcount=17 (check this thread, it will be very useful).
Just add the " qemu.hw.mainkeys=0 " line to the bottom of the build.prop file, save, and reboot. If it didn't work then try " ro.show.navigationbar=0 ".

And check this thread too: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2032117

P.S: This is editing the build.prop file, not SystemUI.apk.

This is not what he is looking for. He wants to add the Menu button to an already present Nav Bar.

---------- Post added at 03:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:25 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just2Cause

@es0tericcha0s

I would like to edit the SystemUI.apk to make it permanently show the menu button, and I don't want to use xposed as the only xposed module I found that shows the menu button is gravity box and I actually don't like it so I don't want to use it, would prefer to do it manually & permanently.

This isn't likely for YOUR phone, but might at least give you the general idea where to look:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/xper...ecent-t2386741
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes