Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,756 Members 41,004 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] menu button

Tip us?
 
Just2Cause
Old
#1  
Just2Cause's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 273
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Doha, Qatar

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] menu button

Hello


I would like to know which lines should I change in SystemUI.apk so that the menu button is permanently showing in the navbar?
Don't forget to hit the THANKS button! If I helped.
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 490
Posts: 2,537
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Are you wanting to know because you prefer to know the coding behind it or just that you would prefer to be able to control the position? If you want the easier way, it would be to install the Xposed Framework and a module like Gravity Box. From what I have read, it's a huge hassle to edit everything needed to get this to work right. You might find some helpful info here: http://android-developers.blogspot.c...nu-button.html about how this stuff is implemented in code. Unless you really just wanna figure it out for the sake of figuring it out and learning, go with the Xposed mod. Alternative, you could look into http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2270198
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s and check out my site: http://mobilemojo5280.com for more info!


HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
The Following User Says Thank You to es0tericcha0s For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Just2Cause
Old
#3  
Just2Cause's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 273
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Doha, Qatar

 
DONATE TO ME
@es0tericcha0s

I would like to edit the SystemUI.apk to make it permanently show the menu button, and I don't want to use xposed as the only xposed module I found that shows the menu button is gravity box and I actually don't like it so I don't want to use it, would prefer to do it manually & permanently.
Don't forget to hit the THANKS button! If I helped.
 
AAbounegm
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 55
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Cairo

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just2Cause View Post
@es0tericcha0s

I would like to edit the SystemUI.apk to make it permanently show the menu button, and I don't want to use xposed as the only xposed module I found that shows the menu button is gravity box and I actually don't like it so I don't want to use it, would prefer to do it manually & permanently.
It is actually easy to show the navigation bar permanently. You just add three lines to the build.prop file (make sure you make a backup before editing it!!).
I replied to a question like yours here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2&postcount=17 (check this thread, it will be very useful).
Just add the " qemu.hw.mainkeys=0 " line to the bottom of the build.prop file, save, and reboot. If it didn't work then try " ro.show.navigationbar=0 ".

And check this thread too: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2032117

P.S: This is editing the build.prop file, not SystemUI.apk.
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 490
Posts: 2,537
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by AAbounegm View Post
It is actually easy to show the navigation bar permanently. You just add three lines to the build.prop file (make sure you make a backup before editing it!!).
I replied to a question like yours here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2&postcount=17 (check this thread, it will be very useful).
Just add the " qemu.hw.mainkeys=0 " line to the bottom of the build.prop file, save, and reboot. If it didn't work then try " ro.show.navigationbar=0 ".

And check this thread too: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2032117

P.S: This is editing the build.prop file, not SystemUI.apk.
This is not what he is looking for. He wants to add the Menu button to an already present Nav Bar.

---------- Post added at 03:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:25 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just2Cause View Post
@es0tericcha0s

I would like to edit the SystemUI.apk to make it permanently show the menu button, and I don't want to use xposed as the only xposed module I found that shows the menu button is gravity box and I actually don't like it so I don't want to use it, would prefer to do it manually & permanently.
This isn't likely for YOUR phone, but might at least give you the general idea where to look:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/xper...ecent-t2386741
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s and check out my site: http://mobilemojo5280.com for more info!


HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes