Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,209 Members 48,352 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Total wipe

Tip us?
 
GNote4Ever
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default [Q] Total wipe

Okay! SOoooo Im going to apolagize if this is the wrong sport for this! I couldnt quite find a spot that hit everything i was trying to figure out!

SO heres the deal, was looking to upgade my phone! Found an HTC one on ebay SUPER cheap guy selling it tried to root it and got it stuck in a boot cycle..... Easy enough to fix right?! *or so it would have been on a Samsung! thats what im used to working with*

so i get the phone and play a little bit, I load into the bootloader and do a factory reset! the phone restarted and went right to the main set up page! as soon as i get to the end it says Unfortunatly Set up has stopped. *UGH* still im thinking super easy to fix! Just gotta flash Stock rom! so i head in that direction everything im finding says need to S-off the phone. so i start researching! ThinI started with the boot loader, got it unlocked *thats what all the post were saying to do* then went to move on to S-off, heres where it gets messy.... long story short..... the program freaks out gives me some error then starts in to loading CWM and then everything just crashes! Phone, Computer..... everything!

I get the phone back into boot mode, NOW it sats Tampered on the top, I cant get back to the set, Recovery doent work, factory reset doent work..... again long story short after researching it turns out i wiped EVERYTHING.

I can still get to the phone VIA command promts, I can get it to load in to the black HTC screen hell i can even relock and unlock the phone..... But I think where the issue is, the phone is still S-on..... when following all the step to fix this I cant get the ADB to see that my device is connected I can- But i can acces it through other commands..... Hopefully I havent lost everyone!!

Please tell me im not completely screwed....
 
clsA
Old
#2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 851
Posts: 3,167
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Post fastboot getvar all - minus your imei and serial no

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

 
GNote4Ever
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
Post fastboot getvar all - minus your imei and serial no

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Sorry, while im not a complete noob with this stuff im still learning. what do you want me to do?
 
GNote4Ever
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
Post fastboot getvar all - minus your imei and serial no

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Never mind! figured it out haha

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.14.3250.13
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.26.502.12
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno:
(bootloader) imei:
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0712000
(bootloader) cidnum: CWS__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4248mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
getvar:all FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
finished. total time: 0.060s
 
clsA
Old
#5  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 851
Posts: 3,167
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by GNote4Ever View Post
Never mind! figured it out haha

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.44.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.14.3250.13
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 1.26.502.12
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno:
(bootloader) imei:
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0712000
(bootloader) cidnum: CWS__001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4248mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
getvar:all FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
finished. total time: 0.060s
You can run a RUU to get you phone working
lock the bootloader
fastboot oem lock
then run this RUU to get up to android 4.3
http://dl3.htc.com/application/RUU_M...5_signed_2.exe

if you having problems with your drivers install these
http://www.mediafire.com/download/j5..._4.8.0.002.exe
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

 
GNote4Ever
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
You can run a RUU to get you phone working
lock the bootloader
fastboot oem lock
then run this RUU to get up to android 4.3
http://dl3.htc.com/application/RUU_M...5_signed_2.exe

if you having problems with your drivers install these
http://www.mediafire.com/download/j5..._4.8.0.002.exe

The RUU wont work in this case. I did as you said*just to be sure.* But the RUU can cacess the phone in boot mode and because the phone get stuck on the "HTC quietly brilliant" screen its not loaded far enough to engage the USB connection. All I get is USB Connection Error when running the RUU
 
GNote4Ever
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
You can run a RUU to get you phone working
lock the bootloader
fastboot oem lock
then run this RUU to get up to android 4.3
http://dl3.htc.com/application/RUU_M...5_signed_2.exe

if you having problems with your drivers install these
http://www.mediafire.com/download/j5..._4.8.0.002.exe
think I got it. Loaded to the Black HTC screen using fastboot oem rebootRUU- then ran the RUU it is "updating boot" as we speak.
 
zerogun
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 180
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GNote4Ever View Post
think I got it. Loaded to the Black HTC screen using fastboot oem rebootRUU- then ran the RUU it is "updating boot" as we speak.
Next time, an easier method would be to flash a custom recovery (fastboot flash recovery *recovery of your choice*) and then install a new ROM. You put the ROM on an external USB and flash it, or you can ADB push the ROM into the phone.

When running S-Off (rumrunner or firewater) I recommend to always run it from a stock ROM.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...