5,814,939 Members 47,430 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Installing Cyanogenmod 10.2 on S4 MK2 Issues

Tip us?
 
jadent
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default [Q] Installing Cyanogenmod 10.2 on S4 MK2 Issues

I'm running Galaxy S4 MK2 and want to install Cyanomod 10.2 so I

1. Rooted using Safe Root from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758 (Since other options are not an option on MK2)

2. Installed Safestrap 3.7.1 from http://hosting.crackflasher.com/?dir...evzw/safestrap (Since others won't work on MK2 yet)

3. Downloaded Cyanogenmod 10.2 from http://get.cm/get/cwv (MD5 checks out)

4. Booted into Safestrap and wiped all the cache

5. Installed Cyanogenmod 10.2

The install was very quick probably only 10 seconds which seemed really fast but said it was Successful. But on reboot I just get a blue screen with green stripes so something isn't right.

I can reinstall my backup ROM without issue using Safestap.

But have no idea what's going wrong and can't find anybody with the same problem. I know flashing on MK2 is new but anyone have any ideas to try?

Thanks for any help!
 
riker147
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 304
Posts: 969
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadent View Post
I'm running Galaxy S4 MK2 and want to install Cyanomod 10.2 so I

1. Rooted using Safe Root from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758 (Since other options are not an option on MK2)

2. Installed Safestrap 3.7.1 from http://hosting.crackflasher.com/?dir...evzw/safestrap (Since others won't work on MK2 yet)

3. Downloaded Cyanogenmod 10.2 from http://get.cm/get/cwv (MD5 checks out)

4. Booted into Safestrap and wiped all the cache

5. Installed Cyanogenmod 10.2

The install was very quick probably only 10 seconds which seemed really fast but said it was Successful. But on reboot I just get a blue screen with green stripes so something isn't right.

I can reinstall my backup ROM without issue using Safestap.

But have no idea what's going wrong and can't find anybody with the same problem. I know flashing on MK2 is new but anyone have any ideas to try?

Thanks for any help!
You can't install CM or AOSP roms with Safestrap. Only TW based. It's been posted many, many, many times.
Check this thread out. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606501

Sent from my NCC 1701 using Tapatalk 4
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _____________________
Reading Is Fundamental
 
jadent
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by riker147 View Post
You can't install CM or AOSP roms with Safestrap. Only TW based. It's been posted many, many, many times.
Check this thread out. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606501

Sent from my NCC 1701 using Tapatalk 4
Thanks riker and my apologies. I thought it was capable with 3.6+ as I've found a couple of video tutorials published just days ago using 3.6 installing CM.

But i guess it's just not possible yet so will continue to wait.
 
gnubian
Old
#4  
gnubian's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 110
Posts: 187
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Asheville
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadent View Post
Thanks riker and my apologies. I thought it was capable with 3.6+ as I've found a couple of video tutorials published just days ago using 3.6 installing CM.

But i guess it's just not possible yet so will continue to wait.

Jeboo and surge are working hard on an exploit to free our Verizon enslaved phones.

"The greatest prayer is patience" - Buddha
The Following User Says Thank You to gnubian For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
decaturbob
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 814
Posts: 2,391
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadent View Post
I'm running Galaxy S4 MK2 and want to install Cyanomod 10.2 so I

1. Rooted using Safe Root from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758 (Since other options are not an option on MK2)

2. Installed Safestrap 3.7.1 from http://hosting.crackflasher.com/?dir...evzw/safestrap (Since others won't work on MK2 yet)

3. Downloaded Cyanogenmod 10.2 from http://get.cm/get/cwv (MD5 checks out)

4. Booted into Safestrap and wiped all the cache

5. Installed Cyanogenmod 10.2

The install was very quick probably only 10 seconds which seemed really fast but said it was Successful. But on reboot I just get a blue screen with green stripes so something isn't right.

I can reinstall my backup ROM without issue using Safestap.

But have no idea what's going wrong and can't find anybody with the same problem. I know flashing on MK2 is new but anyone have any ideas to try?

Thanks for any help!

all S4 people starting need to start here.....

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606501
so long Verizon and my awesome S4 , hello TMO G3
The Following User Says Thank You to decaturbob For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
foos3rj4m
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by decaturbob View Post
all S4 people starting need to start here.....

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606501

I got the same problem Jadent... so we both will just have to wait it out.... lol sux to b us....
 
Mistertac
Old
#7  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,606
Posts: 3,422
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Springfield, Ma

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by foos3rj4m View Post
I got the same problem Jadent... so we both will just have to wait it out.... lol sux to b us....
At least you have root and SafeStrap. Can't say the same for the Verizon S5 lol

Sent from my jflte using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2

The Following User Says Thank You to Mistertac For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
blue screen, cyanogenmod, mk2
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes