Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more
Post Reply

[Q] Updating Verizon M8 on GSM

OP thirtyseven10

17th April 2014, 02:30 PM   |  #1  
thirtyseven10's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag George Town
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I bought the Factory Unlocked HTC M8 from Amazon thinking it was the GSM version, but I was sent the Verizon version which is CDMA. This is a problem for me because I am in a GSM area of the world, see below;

Territory
Cayman Islands
GSM & CDMA Frequencies
900 MHz 1900 MHz
UMTS Frequencies
2100 MHz
LTE Frequencies
700 MHz (planned),1800 MHz (active)

The main problem this causes is that I can't access the Software Update section in the phone because this is only active on the CDMA network / SIM, is there any way around this?

I can deal with the bloatware as this can be removed (At least most of it), but if I can't update the phone I'll be pretty annoyed. Is there a way to convert a Verizon version to an international version or a way to update a verizon phone without the OTA updates from the carrier?

Sending the phone back is not really an option as it would end up costing a fortune in shipping fees etc. and I would be better of just getting rid of the phone and finding something else.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by thirtyseven10; 17th April 2014 at 02:35 PM. Reason: Improve Clarity / Formatting
17th April 2014, 03:02 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
once there are updates, i assume they will be posted on here and you can just download and install yourself.
The Following User Says Thank You to Abe21599 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th April 2014, 03:17 PM   |  #3  
thirtyseven10's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag George Town
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abe21599

once there are updates, i assume they will be posted on here and you can just download and install yourself.

Would that method wipe my data and settings from my phone? It would right?
17th April 2014, 03:30 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
not necessarily, OTA updates do not.

i do not know for a fact, only speculating on other phones with OTA files uploaded.
17th April 2014, 03:58 PM   |  #5  
thirtyseven10's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag George Town
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abe21599

not necessarily, OTA updates do not.

i do not know for a fact, only speculating on other phones with OTA files uploaded.

I understand, it makes sense. Thanks for your help.
19th April 2014, 07:39 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Any updates about this !! i have the same problem !
verizon has released a new sotware update and i dont know how to get it .
23rd April 2014, 11:16 PM   |  #7  
thirtyseven10's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag George Town
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moe.harb

Any updates about this !! i have the same problem !
verizon has released a new sotware update and i dont know how to get it .



You need at least temp root be able to manually install the update, weaksauce works great for this. Once you have temp root you can download the OTA from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2722817 and then unzip and place the OTA.zip in /cache/fumo on your phone (I changed the permissions of the OTA.zip to allow read/write/execute as well). If you don't have a fumo folder in your cache create one and set the permissions to read/write/execute, for moving files and changing permissions I use root explorer.

Once you have the file in the correct location, flash the OTA through the stock recovery. That should be all, it worked for me...


Sent from my HTC One (M8).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes