Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] [ SOLVED ] [ YP-G70 & YP-G1 ] Three Players, One MAC Address

OP TrojanDad

23rd April 2014, 02:10 AM   |  #1  
TrojanDad's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
I have three SG Players, two 5.0 and one 4.0 that have been having trouble connecting to my home wifi.

The 4.0 is running CM11 (cm-11-20140323-UNOFFICIAL-ypg1) with the Impulse r6 kernel.

One 5.0 is running CM11 (cm-11-20140113-UNOFFICIAL-venturi) with the Jan12 US kernel.

The other 5.0 is running CM10.2 (cm-10.2-20131105-UNOFFICIAL-venturi) with the Nov4 US kernel.

I poked around and discovered that they all have the same MAC address, and the two 5.0 players have the same serial number. I tried various MAC spoofers and changers without any success. I tried wiping and reflashing one of the 5.0 and the 4.0, but the addresses did not change.

Does anybody have any suggestions on how to change the MAC addresses?
Last edited by TrojanDad; 24th April 2014 at 12:30 AM. Reason: problem was solved
23rd April 2014, 02:28 AM   |  #2  
Meticulus's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Springfield
Thanks Meter: 2,083
 
1,310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
For the 5.0 player you need to edit the /vendor/firmware/nvram.txt . There is a line that starts: macaddr=

Make sure it sticks, you got to remount,rw /system before you edit!

You should be able to make up any "valid" mac you want...

Been meaning to fix this but... working on other stuff at the moment.
The Following User Says Thank You to Meticulus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2014, 07:57 PM   |  #3  
zaclimon's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Montréal
Thanks Meter: 2,894
 
3,436 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
As @Meticulus said, the same thing applies with the 4.0, only that the file is /vendor/firmware/nvram_net.txt.
The Following User Says Thank You to zaclimon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2014, 09:18 PM   |  #4  
Meticulus's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Springfield
Thanks Meter: 2,083
 
1,310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaclimon

As @Meticulus said, the same thing applies with the 4.0, only that the file is /vendor/firmware/nvram_net.txt.

You path is correct for 5.0 too... typo
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Meticulus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2014, 12:23 AM   |  #5  
TrojanDad's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Gentlemen,

Thank you for the help. I was not able to try your suggestions as the computer here at work is locked down.

As both of you mentioned a text file, I looked through the cm-11-20140323-UNOFFICIAL-ypg1.zip file, found and edited /system/vendor/firmware/nvram_net.txt to modify the mac address. After saving the modified .zip file, I flashed it and my 4.0 now had the revised MAC address.

I then took the opportunity to update one 5.0 and the 4.0 to the latest CM11 (cm-11-20140414-UNOFFICIAL-venturi and cm-11-20140421-UNOFFICIAL-ypg1, respectively), after modifying the MAC address for each .zip file.

Thank you for fixing the headset button on the 4.0!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TrojanDad For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes