Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,899 Members 49,799 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can I CWM a non-development phone bought in the shop?

Tip us?
 
axonn
Old
#1  
axonn's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 38
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Stockholm
Default Can I CWM a non-development phone bought in the shop?

Do I need one of those "vanilla" developer phones if I'm to install a custom ROM on my Note 3? As far as I know, nope. You can root any Android phone.

I'm fairly sure that I can ClockWorkMod + install custom ROM on a phone I purchase in a shop. But I just want to make sure .

Thank you in advance .
. - = E C H Y S T T A S = - .
The Greater Mind Balance
 
Dejan Sathanas
Old
#2  
Dejan Sathanas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2597
Posts: 1,211
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hell
You are joking, right ?
If not, yes.

Sent from my N9005
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7piTcDllnY
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dejan Sathanas For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dragoncius
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 377
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: México City
Quote:
Originally Posted by axonn View Post
Do I need one of those "vanilla" developer phones if I'm to install a custom ROM on my Note 3? As far as I know, nope. You can root any Android phone.

I'm fairly sure that I can ClockWorkMod + install custom ROM on a phone I purchase in a shop. But I just want to make sure .

Thank you in advance .
You need to READ a lot!!! Really, you will surely make something wrong...READ!
The Following User Says Thank You to dragoncius For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
axonn
Old
#4  
axonn's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 38
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoncius View Post
You need to READ a lot!!! Really, you will surely make something wrong...READ!
Although my question seemed that of a noob, I can assure you I am not. My first rooted phone was HTC Tytn2 which I rooted using Duty's ROM's which I found here back in 2008. So no worries . Now I have a rooted SG2. I know all the procedures, safety steps and so on.

The reason I asked such a dumb question was that I had a 1% uncertainty regarding this, which I was unwilling to risk on.

As far as I know, the so-called dev-phones are simply loaded with a vanilla version of Android, no Samsung bloatware.

Anyway, thank you guys for calming my fears .
. - = E C H Y S T T A S = - .
The Greater Mind Balance
 
dragoncius
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 377
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: México City
Quote:
Originally Posted by axonn View Post
Although my question seemed that of a noob, I can assure you I am not. My first rooted phone was HTC Tytn2 which I rooted using Duty's ROM's which I found here back in 2008. So no worries . Now I have a rooted SG2. I know all the procedures, safety steps and so on.

The reason I asked such a dumb question was that I had a 1% uncertainty regarding this, which I was unwilling to risk on.

As far as I know, the so-called dev-phones are simply loaded with a vanilla version of Android, no Samsung bloatware.

Anyway, thank you guys for calming my fears .
There´s only one Google Edition phone in Samsung, the S4. Still, you can get a "normal" S4 and still flash it like crazy.
 
axonn
Old
#6  
axonn's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 38
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragoncius View Post
There´s only one Google Edition phone in Samsung, the S4. Still, you can get a "normal" S4 and still flash it like crazy.
Flash it like crazy. I like the sound of that! *grin*
. - = E C H Y S T T A S = - .
The Greater Mind Balance
Thread Tools
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...