Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Another way GSM Unlock for US Carriers and returning from d801 to ls980

OP juanacevedo

1st April 2014, 10:55 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
282 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
So is there any other way of gsm unlocking the LS980 for US carriers (T-mobile for me) without being on the two specific roms that do this? Like say Vanir, or omnirom, or the Glex rom? I see the build.prop method mentioned a lot but not the actual process for it, and does that work for US carriers? Also, I flashed Justin's stock JB rom on my ls980 so its going to say its a d801, how do i go back to my ls980 status? I may or may not have accidentally my backup too... any way to undo this without using the lg flash tool?
4th April 2014, 03:07 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
justin posted a guide on how to port pretty much any rom from any of the other carriers:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...596175&page=41

Look for post #410 (credit to justin)

So far Ive tried the energy rom in the tmobile dev section and the stock international version (d802). Both worked well and I especially liked the d802 because it had the fm radio app and it worked great. Some other users have ported verizon roms as well.

Ive also tried the build prop method with modest success:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...596175&page=41

Look for post #423 and remember ti use lowercase "spr" (credit to MA7MOD_GSM)

Unfortunately the build prop method has a few quirks. You have to dial a "1" before dialing a number otherwise the dialing app crashes. Also I couldn't get wifi tethering to work properly. Eventually I settled on the energy rom and its been my daily driver for about 2 weeks and I cant complain much.

I dont know if you can successfully flash a ls980 and get back on the stock rom without lg flash tool. If you want to go back to stock Id stick to the tried and true method namely the stock tot file and lg flash tool. Follow the instructions here: (credit to hyelton)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476
4th April 2014, 08:21 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
282 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsox1919

justin posted a guide on how to port pretty much any rom from any of the other carriers:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...596175&page=41

Look for post #410 (credit to justin)

So far Ive tried the energy rom in the tmobile dev section and the stock international version (d802). Both worked well and I especially liked the d802 because it had the fm radio app and it worked great. Some other users have ported verizon roms as well.

Ive also tried the build prop method with modest success:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...596175&page=41

Look for post #423 and remember ti use lowercase "spr" (credit to MA7MOD_GSM)

Unfortunately the build prop method has a few quirks. You have to dial a "1" before dialing a number otherwise the dialing app crashes. Also I couldn't get wifi tethering to work properly. Eventually I settled on the energy rom and its been my daily driver for about 2 weeks and I cant complain much.

I dont know if you can successfully flash a ls980 and get back on the stock rom without lg flash tool. If you want to go back to stock Id stick to the tried and true method namely the stock tot file and lg flash tool. Follow the instructions here: (credit to hyelton)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2432476

Any idea as to whether trying the romn compare method listed in Justins instructions would work with the base and another sprint rom. I believe the rom is called d3rp or something similar.
4th April 2014, 05:32 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by juanacevedo

Any idea as to whether trying the romn compare method listed in Justins instructions would work with the base and another sprint rom. I believe the rom is called d3rp or something similar.


Thats a good question. I cant speak from experience but Id imagine that any stock based spring rom would still have the usa gsm carrier lock. Now if I remember correctly some users have reported that using the build prop method then flashing a sprint AOSP rom unlocked the phone for usa carriers. Again I havent tired it myself but its somewhere in the unlock thread here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2596175
Last edited by wsox1919; 4th April 2014 at 05:37 PM.
6th April 2014, 12:25 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
282 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsox1919

Thats a good question. I cant speak from experience but Id imagine that any stock based spring rom would still have the usa gsm carrier lock. Now if I remember correctly some users have reported that using the build prop method then flashing a sprint AOSP rom unlocked the phone for usa carriers. Again I havent tired it myself but its somewhere in the unlock thread here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2596175

Ah, I tried the rom porting method with an ATT rom but it woyldn't boot. It got past the lg logo and got stuck on a black screen and at the top left it said Fastboot and under that it had a number code. I managed to restore from backup using twrp but any idea what that was or how to get past it?
6th April 2014, 09:56 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Which ROM did u try? Also did u clear cache/dalvik before and after installation? Try any of ROMS in the international section. Ive ported a few international ones and never had a problem. also Im pretty sure that justins Tmo port has worked with att sims,
7th April 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
282 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsox1919

Which ROM did u try? Also did u clear cache/dalvik before and after installation? Try any of ROMS in the international section. Ive ported a few international ones and never had a problem. also Im pretty sure that justins Tmo port has worked with att sims,

It was called something along the lines of grievous or grievious rom and yes, I wiped everything and I always clear both caches but it wouldn't boot and got stuck on the fastboot screen. I replaced all the necessary files although I did notice that the rom did not have the loki folder at all but I copied it anyway, is that maybe why that happened? Also, do you remember what other roms you've tried besides the energy rom?
24th April 2014, 08:08 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsox1919

justin posted a guide on how to port pretty much any rom from any of the other carriers:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...596175&page=41

Look for post #410 (credit to justin)

So far Ive tried the energy rom in the tmobile dev section and the stock international version (d802). Both worked well and I especially liked the d802 because it had the fm radio app and it worked great. Some other users have ported verizon roms as well.

[/url]


Hi

Hi , I have flashed JUSTIN ROM posted in post# 239

It works fine , I have one issue and one query
- I can't set up any APN , by default it's T-Mobile. Even though I can add apn manually I can't select as there is no select button next to the apn.
Please note I am using this ROM in India/Airtel network (Need urgent help on this as no DATA is active)
- Is there any Kitkat version of this ROM

I have also attempted to use another ROM , following the instructions as per post #410
But after flashing my phone stuck in LG logo.
- Do I need to flash some other modem
- ROM which I were trying to flash is T-Mobile stock debloated (Kitkat) and I compared and did file adjustment against Justin's ROM (Sprint - T-Mobile , post#239 )
ROM link : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2688981

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes