Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more
Post Reply

How to change the time on when you need to fingerprint unlock.

OP fastfed

23rd April 2014, 05:44 AM   |  #11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
858 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by accrews2001

I realize this is annoying to you but your response to someone trying to help you was rude.

I also don't see anywhere other than the lock screen settings to manage your security settings. Mine also works like your friends, seemingly by default. The only thing I can suggest is to change the security to swipe and then back to fingerprint. Maybe it's some kind of glitch you found.

Sent from my AT&T GS5

It's a forum, it's read differently to some people, it wasn't meant as rude. Although the reply was extremely basic, I know how to get into my security settings.

What I'm asking seems harder to find then a noob trying to root his phone. It is frustrating. It's a basic feature and I'd love to have it
23rd April 2014, 10:28 AM   |  #12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Hello,

Go to lockscreen setting and set the lock automatically time to 30 mins. Also you will find an iption below stating lock instantly with power button, disable that option and you are done. Your phone will lock to fingerprint oly after 30 minutes of inactivity

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd April 2014, 08:27 PM   |  #13  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
858 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:

[quote name="accrews2001" post=52119940]I realize this is annoying to you but your response to someone trying to help you was rude.

I also don't see anywhere other than the lock screen settings to manage your security settings. Mine also works like your friends, seemingly by default. The only thing I can suggest is to change the security to swipe and then back to fingerprint. Maybe it's some kind of glitch you found.

Sent from my AT&T GS5

It's a forum, it's read differently to some people, it wasn't meant as rude. Although the reply was extremely basic, I know how to get into my security settings.

What I'm asking seems harder to find then a noob trying to root his phone. It is frustrating. It's a basic feature and I'd love to have it [/QUOTE]

Still not helping.. Again...

When I shut my screen off with the power button and turn it back on, it just turns on without any swiping needed. After 30 minutes finger print is needed.. But I want to have to swipe to unlock my phone, finger print within 30 minutes!!


Sent from my SM-G900T using xda app-developers app
23rd April 2014, 10:11 PM   |  #14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Maybe he has an app that does it?
24th April 2014, 01:09 AM   |  #15  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
858 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by WePlay

Maybe he has an app that does it?



This is how I feel right now


I'm on XDA forums, not some kiddy site and we can't figure this out.

someone mentioned it was a bug, maybe that is true? But I would love to see if someone can confirm this. Is it a bug. Is it simply NOT possible?

Do people understand what I'm saying?

It's not an app. He literally just bought the phone that day! He still talks about it with me all the time. I laugh at how the genius's here can't figure this thing out.

I mean.. Maybe I start a thread, "What do you use to unlock your phone"
I can't see people using fingerprint EVERYTIME to just open the phone for a second. It takes too long.

I think most people just don't even use the fingerprint option and thats why this thread is lacking any replies.
24th April 2014, 06:34 AM   |  #16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I use fingeprint all the time. I have looked at all my settings and cant find any options to set swipe as temporary lock screen.

I wish I could as I would like that option too. However I dont think that fingerprint takes too long. I just swipe my thomb and the phone opens.
24th April 2014, 04:15 PM   |  #17  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Your problem sounds like something is preventing the phone from even locking. I had a similar issue on my Galaxy S4. There's an app called Swann View Plus that I would use for viewing our cameras at work. For some reason, whenever I opened it, clicked back to home, and then locked the screen, when I woke up the phone I would not have to swipe to unlock, it would just be there at the home screen.

Now I have the same app on my Galaxy S5 and it doesn't do that, however I would look towards some kind of app causing this issue. Wipe your device to factory and check to see if it is still doing the same thing as it is now, or if it does as your friend's does which is also what mine does.
24th April 2014, 05:12 PM   |  #18  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
858 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by WePlay

I use fingeprint all the time. I have looked at all my settings and cant find any options to set swipe as temporary lock screen.

I wish I could as I would like that option too. However I dont think that fingerprint takes too long. I just swipe my thomb and the phone opens.

He he he say what?? An app is causing what issue?? Finding where the setting is?


Sent from my SM-G900T using xda app-developers app
24th April 2014, 05:50 PM   |  #19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastfed

He he he say what?? An app is causing what issue?? Finding where the setting is?

No. I doesnt mention any app.
My phone does the same as yours. But I would like the same setting as your friend. I just say I have looked at all my settings in the phone and cant find any setting to set it like your friend.
24th April 2014, 08:03 PM   |  #20  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
858 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastfed

He he he say what?? An app is causing what issue?? Finding where the setting is?


Sent from my SM-G900T using xda app-developers app

Loll OK.. Thanks, felt like I was losing my mind.. Really frustrating :banghead:

Sent from my SM-G900T using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank