Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,777,785 Members 47,173 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] 4G connection issue

Tip us?
 
evolwun
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default [Q] 4G connection issue

I am unable to get reliable data on my CM11 rom on my razr maxx. I have checked all the network setting with a friend's whos is working and there are two differences:
1. His APN is grayed out
2. I do not get a "pass" on HTTP client test when I go into #*#*4636*#*#

When I fire up the phone it connects at 3G. It then takes about 10 minutes to go to LTE. When it does, it is DOG slow.

I also have the same issue with CM11 roms on my Incredible 4G LTE. It was thinking it was the sim, but it works fine on a stock rom. I have seen other folks with similar issues, but no resolution.
 
zero66
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 344
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by evolwun View Post
I am unable to get reliable data on my CM11 rom on my razr maxx. I have checked all the network setting with a friend's whos is working and there are two differences:
1. His APN is grayed out
2. I do not get a "pass" on HTTP client test when I go into #*#*4636*#*#

When I fire up the phone it connects at 3G. It then takes about 10 minutes to go to LTE. When it does, it is DOG slow.

I also have the same issue with CM11 roms on my Incredible 4G LTE. It was thinking it was the sim, but it works fine on a stock rom. I have seen other folks with similar issues, but no resolution.
check jakedhs07 cyanogenmod thread about restoring apns
 
evolwun
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero66 View Post
check jakedhs07 cyanogenmod thread about restoring apns
Brilliant! Fixed.

I did have to change the permissions on the APN app before moving it. After restoring the APN's from stock, I did have to go in an select the appropriate one.
 
evolwun
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jun 2012
Follow-Up

After about a day of use, this stopped working. This morning, I was unable to connect via LTE. If I chose an appropriate APN, it would not stay selected (if I went back into APN's after making a change it would be set to something else).

What I did to fix this was to use APN Backup and Restore to delete all the APN's and then restore ONLY the APN's from the stock ROM. So far, it is working.
 
evolwun
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by evolwun View Post
Follow-Up

After about a day of use, this stopped working. This morning, I was unable to connect via LTE. If I chose an appropriate APN, it would not stay selected (if I went back into APN's after making a change it would be set to something else).

What I did to fix this was to use APN Backup and Restore to delete all the APN's and then restore ONLY the APN's from the stock ROM. So far, it is working.
More Follow-Up

It looks like the APN's get jacked when I use WIFI. Any thoughts?
 
vazersecurity
Old
#6  
vazersecurity's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 243
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Payson, UT
Default Probable Fix - By ME! (CDMA ONLY - XT912)

This is what I did to fix the issue. It doesn't just fix the LTE, but the entire connection overall. (Atleast for me, please leave a follow up if you try this).
---
First things first, goto your APN settings (System Settings > Mobile Networks > Access Point Names)
1) Delete all existing APNs. (tap the APN to enter configuration, open menu and delete the APN.
2) Create a new APN.
Enter the following information:
Code:
Name
Verizon Internet
APN
VZWINTERNET
Proxy
Not set
Port
Not set
Username
Not set
Password
Not set
Server
Not set
MMSC
http://mms.vtext.com/servlets/mms
MMS proxy
Not set
MMS port
Not set
MCC
311
MNC
480
Authentication type
Not set

APN Type (NOTE: Must be exact)
default,mms,dun,stdhipri,supl

APN Protocol (NOTE: If doesn't change immediately, try again.)
IPv4/IPv6

APN roaming protocol
IPv4
Bearer
LTE
MVNO type
None
---
I tried this and it worked. Basically it is stealing the stock APN.
CURRENTLY ACTIVE DEVICE: MOTOROLA DROID RAZR (CDMA XT912)
=================
=================
ROM: STOCK
OWNED SINCE: October 2013
=================
DROID Incredible 4G LTE Owners: XDA Group
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes