TWRP 2.8.3.0 Available for Supported Devices

The TeamWin Recovery Project (or TWRP, for short) has quickly become one of the most popular … more

Easily Generate and Export Material Design Palletes

For many people, it can be pretty difficult to create a palette of complementary colors. … more

Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] how can i get zram.ko module

OP kartik verma

24th April 2014, 12:41 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Hamirpur H.P
Thanks Meter: 76
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
i want zam.ko module file.

provide me if i have any link.
24th April 2014, 05:04 PM   |  #2  
shimp208's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1,687
 
2,320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kartik verma

i want zam.ko module file.

provide me if i have any link.

What device do you want to use the zram kernel module on? One way is to take the kernel source for your device compile it using the make menuconfig option and enabling under the options. Then when it produces the zram.ko module file you can insmod it on your device. What you could also do is take the zram.ko module from a custom ROM for your device and insmod it from there (Place the module in the /system/lib/modules directory on your device), or try taking the zram.ko module from a custom ROM that supports it that uses the same chipset as your device. Let me know if you still have questions.
24th April 2014, 07:38 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Hamirpur H.P
Thanks Meter: 76
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shimp208

What device do you want to use the zram kernel module on? One way is to take the kernel source for your device compile it using the make menuconfig option and enabling under the options. Then when it produces the zram.ko module file you can insmod it on your device. What you could also do is take the zram.ko module from a custom ROM for your device and insmod it from there (Place the module in the /system/lib/modules directory on your device), or try taking the zram.ko module from a custom ROM that supports it that uses the same chipset as your device. Let me know if you still have questions.


i have galaxy y duos. is this feature activated in custom kernel. and what is the use of zram
25th April 2014, 12:30 AM   |  #4  
shimp208's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1,687
 
2,320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kartik verma

i have galaxy y duos. is this feature activated in custom kernel. and what is the use of zram

This will probably be activated in a custom kernel, if not you can compile the kernel source yourself and add it in. Zram is a special form of swapping/paging, I would recommend taking a look at this article for a more in depth technical explanation. Essentially it helps performance and acts as a virtual RAM.
25th April 2014, 07:19 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Hamirpur H.P
Thanks Meter: 76
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by shimp208

This will probably be activated in a custom kernel, if not you can compile the kernel source yourself and add it in. Zram is a special form of swapping/paging, I would recommend taking a look at this article for a more in depth technical explanation. Essentially it helps performance and acts as a virtual RAM.



Oooo. so i need to contact with iduos kernel developer. i m not having any linux os now so i cant edit anything.

thanks for helping
25th April 2014, 02:51 PM   |  #6  
shimp208's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Boston
Thanks Meter: 1,687
 
2,320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kartik verma

Oooo. so i need to contact with iduos kernel developer. i m not having any linux os now so i cant edit anything.

thanks for helping

What I would do is first look at the Original Post of the kernel thread and look if it mentions zram as a feature, then if you can't find it post in the thread politely if zram is a supported feature, if that doesn't work politely PM the developer. And no problem always happy to help people out.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes