Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,426 Members 53,495 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Empty CIFS-mounted directories

Tip us?
 
tdido
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default [Q] Empty CIFS-mounted directories

I'm currently running an OMNI build for everest, which is working delightfully well. The only thing I can't seem to achieve is to mount a CIFS directory. Actually, it can be mounted, but its contents are only visible to root.

While doing some research I found this thread. For what the description says, I assume this fix has been applied in CM, since I was able to mount CIFS (outside of /storage) before switching from CM to OMNI.

Would these patches be applicable for OMNI? If so, I would try to ask the everest ROM creator to apply them, or even try myself. But I'm afraid I may be lacking the knowledge to judge whether it'd just be a waste of time.

Thanks in advance for any tips on this matter.
 
slano
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 14
Join Date: Feb 2011
Any update on the topic? I've tried Omni on my Nexus 10 and it runs perfectly well but this is the last thing that stops me from using the ROM. After mounting the data from my CIFS or NFS share the data is only available from the app performing the mount. The patches in the link from the previous post seems to work around this issue, is there any chance it could be applied to OmniROM?
 
DualJoe
Old
(Last edited by DualJoe; 20th April 2014 at 08:00 PM.)
#3  
DualJoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 491
Posts: 1,087
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: DE
Try to mount your folders manually (or by GScript) with Superusers --mount-master switch to make the mounts available to all processes. Something like this.

Quote:
The su binary now also has a "--mount-master" option that connects you to a su session in the main mount namespace. Mount commands in this session should affect all processes. This is still a bit experimental, and getting it working requires a reboot after upgrading the binaries from a pre-1.93 version. This feature has been asked for a lot by devs, and it escapes the need to hijack system services to affect system-wide mounts, which is becoming more complicated with every Android release. A new version of StickMount will be released in a few days as well, taking advantage of this feature, and thus avoiding a number of issues some are seeing.
https://plus.google.com/+Chainfire/posts/hLKytCwUm6k
Alternatively, there is still the possibility to hijack a system service (like SSH one) to point to a script instead that will bring up your mounts. I'm personally using this so i haven't checked the SU method yet.

Good Luck!
Galaxy SIII I9300:
CM11 (Temasek)
Boeffla CM11 kernel
TWRP 2.7.1.0
XXUGMK6 Modem
The Following User Says Thank You to DualJoe For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
slano
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 14
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DualJoe View Post
Try to mount your folders manually (or by GScript) with Superusers --mount-master switch to make the mounts available to all processes. Something like this.



Alternatively, there is still the possibility to hijack a system service (like SSH one) to point to a script instead that will bring up your mounts. I'm personally using this so i haven't checked the SU method yet.

Good Luck!
Thanks, --mount-master works like a charm!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes