FORUMS

Earthquake Early Warning in Your Pocket

Probably all of us reading this have a smartphone in our pocket. For many of us, the … more

Sony: The OEM You Want To Save

In our recent Discuss article, we asked you readers on which OEM you would like to help. While the … more

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

D803 KitKat Baseband is Broken in Stock ROMs, 4G DOES NOT EQUAL LTE

509 posts
Thanks Meter: 137
 
By autom8r, Senior Member on 23rd April 2014, 08:55 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi all,
This is a thread for d803 owners to discuss how we're going to get LTE supported in KitKat.

Right now, if you flash the popular KK_Baseband floating around, you'll get "4G" after either deleting lteconfigs.apk, or tweaking your build.prop (depending on your ROM). So don't expect "4G" right off the bat, however, even after doing all necessary tweaks, you'll likely find what I found:

"4G" is not 4G, it's HSPA+ in desguise. You can tell by running speed tests (and also noting that the Network always reverts to GSM/WCDMA), they are all within HSPA+ speeds. Reverting back to JB, and running the same speed tests in the same areas results in MUCH faster speeds as it's true LTE. Meaning: 4G does not equal LTE.

Now, I know what you're thinking, "this guys a newb and didn't do the tweaks needed". No, that's not the case, I did all the tweaks, I tried this on CloudyFlex, CloudyStock and even the Rogers KK ROM floating around, all were stuck on GSM/WCDMA with "4G", which is really HSPA+.

So this being said, there appears to be no way to run a custom stock ROM, with LTE, I hope I'm wrong.

Cheers
 
 
24th April 2014, 12:05 AM |#2  
deadgiveaway's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Make sure you hve the right lte apn created and selected in apn settings , next forget about the icon , most roms are gonna say 4g , but check in networks settings if it says lte if it does your getting lte

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398294197931.jpg
Views:	302
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	2704883

These are my apn settings
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398294275131.jpg
Views:	302
Size:	98.1 KB
ID:	2704885Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398294283502.jpg
Views:	273
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	2704886

Sent from my LG-D803 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to deadgiveaway For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th April 2014, 06:52 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 137
 
More
Thanks, that worked, however 4g is not lte, I now get actual lte in the status bar, thanks!
Last edited by El Daddy; 28th April 2014 at 11:05 PM.
24th April 2014, 08:54 AM |#4  
TheHaso's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
More
On my d802 442 the lte option is now gone, and in hidden menu it says not supported. The only available is gsm and wcdma
Any ideas?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
24th April 2014, 03:56 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Kitchener
Thanks Meter: 146
 
More
4g is LTE in configs that use US ROM base because they use that icon for the ROM instead of LTE.. Hspa has the H icon but if you check the network status screen it will show hspap... I have LTE working perfectly on my bell d803 with cloudypro2
Last edited by danial.aw; 24th April 2014 at 05:19 PM.
24th April 2014, 07:00 PM |#6  
deadgiveaway's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHaso

On my d802 442 the lte option is now gone, and in hidden menu it says not supported. The only available is gsm and wcdma
Any ideas?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

This⬆

Sent from my LG-D803 using xda app-developers app
25th April 2014, 01:10 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
You know 4g means lte for international Rom, only north America use 4g as hspa. Whenever you flash a custom Rom, they are mostly base on international Rom. So the 4g is actually mean lte. You can also check the mobile network type in setting as what deadgiveaway show.

Sent from my SGP311 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to athris For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th April 2014, 06:41 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Kitchener
Thanks Meter: 146
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadgiveaway

This⬆

Sent from my LG-D803 using xda app-developers app

Try to change target country in your build prop if you are running a custom room... Once I set mine to CA, LTE has been working fantastic
25th April 2014, 06:44 PM |#9  
deadgiveaway's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
More
Yea but thats just for icon ...

Sent from my LG-D803 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes