Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,700 Members 42,732 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

D803 KitKat Baseband is Broken in Stock ROMs, 4G DOES NOT EQUAL LTE

Tip us?
 
autom8r
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 432
Join Date: Aug 2010
Exclamation D803 KitKat Baseband is Broken in Stock ROMs, 4G DOES NOT EQUAL LTE

Hi all,
This is a thread for d803 owners to discuss how we're going to get LTE supported in KitKat.

Right now, if you flash the popular KK_Baseband floating around, you'll get "4G" after either deleting lteconfigs.apk, or tweaking your build.prop (depending on your ROM). So don't expect "4G" right off the bat, however, even after doing all necessary tweaks, you'll likely find what I found:

"4G" is not 4G, it's HSPA+ in desguise. You can tell by running speed tests (and also noting that the Network always reverts to GSM/WCDMA), they are all within HSPA+ speeds. Reverting back to JB, and running the same speed tests in the same areas results in MUCH faster speeds as it's true LTE. Meaning: 4G does not equal LTE.

Now, I know what you're thinking, "this guys a newb and didn't do the tweaks needed". No, that's not the case, I did all the tweaks, I tried this on CloudyFlex, CloudyStock and even the Rogers KK ROM floating around, all were stuck on GSM/WCDMA with "4G", which is really HSPA+.

So this being said, there appears to be no way to run a custom stock ROM, with LTE, I hope I'm wrong.

Cheers
 
deadgiveaway
Old
#2  
deadgiveaway's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 124
Join Date: Apr 2014
Make sure you hve the right lte apn created and selected in apn settings , next forget about the icon , most roms are gonna say 4g , but check in networks settings if it says lte if it does your getting lte

Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398294197931.jpg
Views:	183
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	2704883

These are my apn settings
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398294275131.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	98.1 KB
ID:	2704885Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398294283502.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	2704886

Sent from my LG-D803 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to deadgiveaway For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
autom8r
Old
(Last edited by El Daddy; 28th April 2014 at 11:05 PM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 119
Posts: 432
Join Date: Aug 2010
Thanks, that worked, however 4g is not lte, I now get actual lte in the status bar, thanks!
 
TheHaso
Old
#4  
TheHaso's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 435
Posts: 1,460
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hokksund
On my d802 442 the lte option is now gone, and in hidden menu it says not supported. The only available is gsm and wcdma
Any ideas?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Xperia Charging Animations
HDPI and MDPI


Phone
LG G2 D802 32GB
 
Previous Phone
Xperia Arc LT15i (LT18i format)
Super Jelly Bean 8 - SJB KK Kernel



 
danial.aw
Old
(Last edited by danial.aw; 24th April 2014 at 05:19 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 115
Posts: 1,147
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kitchener
4g is LTE in configs that use US ROM base because they use that icon for the ROM instead of LTE.. Hspa has the H icon but if you check the network status screen it will show hspap... I have LTE working perfectly on my bell d803 with cloudypro2
 
deadgiveaway
Old
#6  
deadgiveaway's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 124
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHaso View Post
On my d802 442 the lte option is now gone, and in hidden menu it says not supported. The only available is gsm and wcdma
Any ideas?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
This⬆

Sent from my LG-D803 using xda app-developers app
 
athris
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 238
Join Date: Jan 2011
You know 4g means lte for international Rom, only north America use 4g as hspa. Whenever you flash a custom Rom, they are mostly base on international Rom. So the 4g is actually mean lte. You can also check the mobile network type in setting as what deadgiveaway show.

Sent from my SGP311 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to athris For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
danial.aw
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 115
Posts: 1,147
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kitchener
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadgiveaway View Post
This⬆

Sent from my LG-D803 using xda app-developers app
Try to change target country in your build prop if you are running a custom room... Once I set mine to CA, LTE has been working fantastic
 
deadgiveaway
Old
#9  
deadgiveaway's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 124
Join Date: Apr 2014
Yea but thats just for icon ...

Sent from my LG-D803 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes