Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,088 Members 39,221 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] any chance we could use kexec to boot cm?

Tip us?
 
Roundtableprez
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 493
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default [Q] any chance we could use kexec to boot cm?

Well like the title says I was wondering if we might be able to use kexec to boot cm on our devices. If I'm not mistaken that's what is used for the droid 3 to boot cm

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
 
graydiggy
Old
#2  
graydiggy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,341
Posts: 4,441
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Houma, LA

 
DONATE TO ME
This has been discussed many times here and in multiple other device forums. At this point, it has not been implemented into SafeStrap. I am not sure if it is possible or not, nor do I know if hash is working on putting it in. He is aware of it though.

Sent from my SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


Lost in a paper bag again...

Current Device
AT&T Samsung Galaxy Note 3
DynamicKat

Previous Devices
Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 (8 Inch)
Asus Nexus 7 2013
Asus Nexus 7 2012 8GB Variant
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S4
Asus Nexus 7 2012 GSM Variant
Sprint Samsung Galaxy S3
Sprint Samsung Galaxy S2 (Epic 4g Touch)
VZW Samsung Illusion
AT&T HTC Inspire 4G
AT&T Samsung Galaxy S (Captivate)
AT&T Samsung Flight II
AT&T Samsung Impression


Please help me buy a new vehicle. Mine was stolen
 
RErick
Old
#3  
RErick's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 4,728
Posts: 3,035
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fort Collins, CO

 
DONATE TO ME
kexec uses a hijacked kernel module to direct to a different kernel placed on the SDcard. Sort of like how SS works, but a bit differently. All SS does is direct the kernel to a different image. Kexec needs a hijacked module to load an insecure kernel. While this sounds easy to implement, trust me it will most likely never happen with the note 3. The problem is that the note 3 doesn't have any modules. And don't ask about inserting them, because the kernel will not run them. They are completely disabled in this kernel. That property is set when the kernel is compiled, so with it being disabled, we cannot enable it, and we cannot hijack the modules, because they are completely disabled.
 
Roundtableprez
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 493
Join Date: Jun 2011
Thanks for your informative reply. Just thought id ask

Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes