Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,000 Members 50,350 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Issues w/Facebook Lag - But only at home

Tip us?
 
Pscheoverdrive
Old
#1  
Pscheoverdrive's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Silver Spring

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Issues w/Facebook Lag - But only at home

This is a weird issue, and I can't seem to figure it out. When I'm on my home network, I have really, really terrible lag with Facebook's mobile app *only on my phone*. I mean, it takes about 10 minutes for a pic to load. Any other app (on my phone) that connects to Facebook will lag really bad connecting to FB, as well. I've got Comcast and Speedtest will give me >100Mb/s on my desktop, hardwired to the router, and my phone will usually give me >50Mb/s. I've got an ASUS RT-N56U router, so I don't think that's the issue. I've tried both 5GHz and 2.4GHz, and they both have the same issue.

If I use the FB app on any other wifi network, or 4G, it works just fine. Any other tabs, iPhones, laptops, etc. work fine on my home network.

The thing is, it wasn't always like this... When I first got Comcast set up, everything worked fine. The problem seems to just have happened one day, and the only thing I changed on my phone was installing Transparent Weather Clock. Of course, I tried uninstalling it and seeing if anything changed, but no luck.

I am on 4.3 NB4, rooted.

Any help is appreciated! TIA!
 
Face_Plant
Old
#2  
Face_Plant's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 184
Posts: 420
Join Date: Mar 2014
Have you tried wiping the Facebook app data or uninstalling and reinstalling it? I've had funky problems with the Facebook app in the past and wiping the data or a fresh download from the Play Store always fixed it.
 
Pscheoverdrive
Old
#3  
Pscheoverdrive's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Silver Spring

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks for the tip... I tried that, but ended up with the same results. Did a data wipe, then tried erasing FB completely and then re-installing.

I mean, the baffling part is that the app and all things connected to it work fine everywhere else... Even on much, much slower internet connections. I can't figure out why it works so poorly on my home wifi, when all the other devices work just fine.
 
sandman7793
Old
#4  
sandman7793's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 578
Posts: 483
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Naples
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pscheoverdrive View Post
Thanks for the tip... I tried that, but ended up with the same results. Did a data wipe, then tried erasing FB completely and then re-installing.

I mean, the baffling part is that the app and all things connected to it work fine everywhere else... Even on much, much slower internet connections. I can't figure out why it works so poorly on my home wifi, when all the other devices work just fine.
You have a external sd? If so go in there and go to Android/data/ and see if files left over for Facebook in there. If so delete them. Then in app manager go to Facebook and clear everything you can. then uninstall. Clear cache. Reboot. Reinstall. See if it works


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
A bOy StUcK iN a ManS BoDy..

TF101 Rooted KatKissing it!!! OC 1400

Samsung Galaxy S4 4.4.2, Sons rocking it now!

AT&T Samsung GN3 Rooted SS DynamicKat

 
Pscheoverdrive
Old
#5  
Pscheoverdrive's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Silver Spring

 
DONATE TO ME
I do have an external SD... However, I checked and there is nothing about Facebook in there.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
 
Pscheoverdrive
Old
#6  
Pscheoverdrive's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Silver Spring

 
DONATE TO ME
An update... I don't believe the problem is isolated to Facebook. Facebook just happens to be the most bandwidth intensive app on my phone. Other Internet services run more slowly on my home network than elsewhere. Maybe this will solve some mystery. I am starting to think it's a router setting.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
 
bravomail
Old
#7  
bravomail's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 338
Posts: 949
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Detroit
Default may be your home router admin

is gently suggesting you to "get off the grid"?
Author of Nostalgia 8 for ATT SGS3, 1.5, 2.3 and 4.0.4 ICS ROMs for Samsung Captivate. ROM and APK compressor.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes