Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How To Disable Capacitive Button Lights? (Unsolved)

OP JediN1nja

25th April 2014, 10:23 AM   |  #1  
JediN1nja's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Hi Awesome People,

I am currently running Slim-4.4.2.build.4.6-WEEKLY-3823 on my SM-n9005 and I've enabled the NavBar and disabled (or rather re-assigned the capacitive buttons to none) but I can't for the live of me seem to find a way (NOTE 3 compatible) to disable the capacitive button lights.

I can flash custom roms and etc (duh) but I am by no means a developer. And after some looking around I managed to find that if I rename the file "lights.MSM8974.so" (/system/lib/hw) to something like "lights.MSM8974.so.bkp" it will disable the lights but then auto screen brightness doesn't work. So the solution should be in that file, right?

So can anyone help me with disabling only the capacitive button lights? Or can I do a workaround in the build.prop file?

Thanks in advance!
Last edited by JediN1nja; 26th April 2014 at 02:45 PM. Reason: Changed header to display unsolved
25th April 2014, 11:31 AM   |  #2  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Enschede, The Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 1,011
 
4,033 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
You are overthinking it...

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-25-11-30-06.png
Views:	104
Size:	202.9 KB
ID:	2707679

Settings --> Device --> Display --> Touch Key Light Duration --> Always Off.
25th April 2014, 11:35 AM   |  #3  
JediN1nja's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowLea

You are overthinking it...

Attachment 2707679

Settings --> Device --> Display --> Touch Key Light Duration --> Always Off.

Thanks I've seen that solution...Except I'm running SlimKat (AOSP), that option is not there.
Neither under Setting -> Advanced Options -> Device

I've even looked for an Xposed Module and have no luck there.
25th April 2014, 10:51 PM   |  #4  
denski101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Xposed module- Gravity Box*:



*if your rom's KitKat based, you'll need Gravity Box(KK).

N9005
Don't thank me, I'm useless
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to denski101 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes