Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,128 Members 40,268 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help! Cannot boot into Custom Recovery

Tip us?
 
LeoZ100
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Exclamation [Q] Help! Cannot boot into Custom Recovery

Hello, I cannot My AT&T Galaxy S4 into recovery mode. According to Boot Manager I have 2 recoveries already installed(CWM and TWRP) but every time I try reboot into recovery I get "Could not do Normal Boot ODIN MODE". I installed one of the recoveries using Goo manager and because it didn't work I tried with boot manager, What am I missing?
 
Austie1337
Old
(Last edited by Austie1337; 26th April 2014 at 12:20 AM.)
#2  
Austie1337's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 80
Join Date: Oct 2013
Goo Manager doesn't work for the AT&T S4... I did the same thing a while back. You need to use Safestrap for this phone. Look for the right version of it. I'm assuming you are using the stock ROM so find out what software version you are on and download the right version of Safestrap. Good luck.

Btw I forgot to add that you lost your stock recovery so you don't have one anymore. You can take it to a bestbuy and tell them Kies broke your phone and they can reflash it for you, or you can install a custom recovery.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to Austie1337 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rugmankc
Old
#3  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,805
Posts: 7,487
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Also, you can't have 2 recoveries installed at "same time". Find your build in settings. If mf3/mk2/nb1 you can't flash custom recoveries. Will also be limited to TW roms. You must use SafeStrap. So, probably need to get very familiar with it before going farther.

Good Luck on it--
ATT Samsung Galaxy S4/Rooted/TWRP 2.5.0.2/Wanam Xposed, or Gravity Box/Long Time MultiRom Flasher/Waiting For The Note 4--The Game Changer








The Following User Says Thank You to rugmankc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LeoZ100
Old
(Last edited by LeoZ100; 26th April 2014 at 01:05 AM.) Reason: Picture Size
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default Thanks!





Thanks, I'm on MK2. I get this message in Rom manager, should I proceed to install Safestrap?





Sorry for the picture size, don't know how to resize.
 
scott14719
Old
#5  
scott14719's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 813
Posts: 2,064
Join Date: Dec 2011
You need to use ODIN to flash the original firmware back to your phone (MK2 from the looks of it). Then, install safetrap using the instructions available in the Safestrap thread. Make sure you read the entire thread before you do anything. As already mentioned, only safestrap will work with your phone, not Goo Manager and not ROM Manager.
.
.
SGH-I337 (AT&T) 32GB
P-ROM (1st Gen.), De-Odexed, AMDL
Rooted
Auto-LOKI OUDHS CWM


Make sure you read and understand the "PINNED" threads in the "General" and "Q & A" sections of the AT&T S4 forum BEFORE you ask for help. Use the forum's "search" function to find posts with additional information. You should not expect others to help you if you haven't tried to help yourself first. Also, read, understand, and follow the "XDA" rules.
The Following User Says Thank You to scott14719 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rugmankc
Old
#6  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,805
Posts: 7,487
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott14719 View Post
You need to use ODIN to flash the original firmware back to your phone (MK2 from the looks of it). Then, install safetrap using the instructions available in the Safestrap thread. Make sure you read the entire thread before you do anything. As already mentioned, only safestrap will work with your phone, not Goo Manager and not ROM Manager.
DITTO
ATT Samsung Galaxy S4/Rooted/TWRP 2.5.0.2/Wanam Xposed, or Gravity Box/Long Time MultiRom Flasher/Waiting For The Note 4--The Game Changer








 
LeoZ100
Old
(Last edited by LeoZ100; 26th April 2014 at 04:45 AM.) Reason: mistake
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austie1337 View Post
Goo Manager doesn't work for the AT&T S4... I did the same thing a while back. You need to use Safestrap for this phone. Look for the right version of it. I'm assuming you are using the stock ROM so find out what software version you are on and download the right version of Safestrap. Good luck.

Btw I forgot to add that you lost your stock recovery so you don't have one anymore. You can take it to a bestbuy and tell them Kies broke your phone and they can reflash it for you, or you can install a custom recovery.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Is there a way I can flash the stock recovery myself? I'm not in the US. Also, I installed Safestrap without flashing the original firmware and everything seems to be working fine. Should I reflash it anyways? I want to run a custom rom (Hyperdrive RLS15) and I'm new to all of this.Thank you for all your answers!
 
Austie1337
Old
#8  
Austie1337's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 80
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeoZ100 View Post
Is there a way I can flash the stock recovery myself? I'm not in the US. Also, I installed Safestrap without flashing the original firmware and everything seems to be working fine. Should I reflash it anyways? I want to run a custom rom (Hyperdrive RLS15) and I'm new to all of this.Thank you for all your answers!
Its all up to you if you wanna flash a custom ROM. Personally I don't because I have always had bad luck with modding phones and tablets. that's why I only root, but don't let that discourage you. Make sure that you have the correct ROM for your device before installing it.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
rugmankc
Old
#9  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,805
Posts: 7,487
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeoZ100 View Post
Is there a way I can flash the stock recovery myself? I'm not in the US. Also, I installed Safestrap without flashing the original firmware and everything seems to be working fine. Should I reflash it anyways? I want to run a custom rom (Hyperdrive RLS15) and I'm new to all of this.Thank you for all your answers!
Do a backup before flashing anything.

Sent from my SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
ATT Samsung Galaxy S4/Rooted/TWRP 2.5.0.2/Wanam Xposed, or Gravity Box/Long Time MultiRom Flasher/Waiting For The Note 4--The Game Changer









Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes