Post Reply

[Q] Help! Cannot boot into Custom Recovery

OP LeoZ100

25th April 2014, 10:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hello, I cannot My AT&T Galaxy S4 into recovery mode. According to Boot Manager I have 2 recoveries already installed(CWM and TWRP) but every time I try reboot into recovery I get "Could not do Normal Boot ODIN MODE". I installed one of the recoveries using Goo manager and because it didn't work I tried with boot manager, What am I missing?
26th April 2014, 12:18 AM   |  #2  
Austie1337's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Goo Manager doesn't work for the AT&T S4... I did the same thing a while back. You need to use Safestrap for this phone. Look for the right version of it. I'm assuming you are using the stock ROM so find out what software version you are on and download the right version of Safestrap. Good luck.

Btw I forgot to add that you lost your stock recovery so you don't have one anymore. You can take it to a bestbuy and tell them Kies broke your phone and they can reflash it for you, or you can install a custom recovery.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Last edited by Austie1337; 26th April 2014 at 12:20 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Austie1337 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2014, 12:43 AM   |  #3  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1,833
 
7,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Also, you can't have 2 recoveries installed at "same time". Find your build in settings. If mf3/mk2/nb1 you can't flash custom recoveries. Will also be limited to TW roms. You must use SafeStrap. So, probably need to get very familiar with it before going farther.

Good Luck on it--
The Following User Says Thank You to rugmankc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2014, 01:01 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Thanks!




Thanks, I'm on MK2. I get this message in Rom manager, should I proceed to install Safestrap?





Sorry for the picture size, don't know how to resize.
Last edited by LeoZ100; 26th April 2014 at 01:05 AM. Reason: Picture Size
26th April 2014, 01:45 AM   |  #5  
scott14719's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 813
 
2,064 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
You need to use ODIN to flash the original firmware back to your phone (MK2 from the looks of it). Then, install safetrap using the instructions available in the Safestrap thread. Make sure you read the entire thread before you do anything. As already mentioned, only safestrap will work with your phone, not Goo Manager and not ROM Manager.
The Following User Says Thank You to scott14719 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2014, 03:00 AM   |  #6  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1,833
 
7,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott14719

You need to use ODIN to flash the original firmware back to your phone (MK2 from the looks of it). Then, install safetrap using the instructions available in the Safestrap thread. Make sure you read the entire thread before you do anything. As already mentioned, only safestrap will work with your phone, not Goo Manager and not ROM Manager.

DITTO
26th April 2014, 04:40 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austie1337

Goo Manager doesn't work for the AT&T S4... I did the same thing a while back. You need to use Safestrap for this phone. Look for the right version of it. I'm assuming you are using the stock ROM so find out what software version you are on and download the right version of Safestrap. Good luck.

Btw I forgot to add that you lost your stock recovery so you don't have one anymore. You can take it to a bestbuy and tell them Kies broke your phone and they can reflash it for you, or you can install a custom recovery.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


Is there a way I can flash the stock recovery myself? I'm not in the US. Also, I installed Safestrap without flashing the original firmware and everything seems to be working fine. Should I reflash it anyways? I want to run a custom rom (Hyperdrive RLS15) and I'm new to all of this.Thank you for all your answers!
Last edited by LeoZ100; 26th April 2014 at 04:45 AM. Reason: mistake
26th April 2014, 02:32 PM   |  #8  
Austie1337's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeoZ100

Is there a way I can flash the stock recovery myself? I'm not in the US. Also, I installed Safestrap without flashing the original firmware and everything seems to be working fine. Should I reflash it anyways? I want to run a custom rom (Hyperdrive RLS15) and I'm new to all of this.Thank you for all your answers!

Its all up to you if you wanna flash a custom ROM. Personally I don't because I have always had bad luck with modding phones and tablets. that's why I only root, but don't let that discourage you. Make sure that you have the correct ROM for your device before installing it.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th April 2014, 02:42 PM   |  #9  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1,833
 
7,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeoZ100

Is there a way I can flash the stock recovery myself? I'm not in the US. Also, I installed Safestrap without flashing the original firmware and everything seems to be working fine. Should I reflash it anyways? I want to run a custom rom (Hyperdrive RLS15) and I'm new to all of this.Thank you for all your answers!

Do a backup before flashing anything.

Sent from my SGH-I337 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes