Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,614 Members 41,418 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Installing Android on 2nd Gen Kindle FIRE (non-HD))

Tip us?
 
amendolaro1
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 216
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Installing Android on 2nd Gen Kindle FIRE (non-HD))

i have rooted and installed playstore but am bored already. So i want to install android on this bad boy. i was going to follow http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2106463 but as reading about the 2nd bootloader, im worried... I was reading about needing a fastboot cable and such. Is this the case anymore? I recall reading somethig where it wasnt needed anymore? thanks a ton!
 
stunts513
Old
(Last edited by stunts513; 25th April 2014 at 08:12 AM.)
#2  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 603
Posts: 2,190
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Braunfels, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
You only need a fastboot cable if you brick it in the process. I recommend this tutorial: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2100963

When you goto downgrade the bootloader please check the md5sum of the bootloader before flashing it. If you don't and its bad it will hard brick. Also a good idea to put the ROM and gapps on the sdcard ahead of time.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD using Tapatalk
My Wallpaper Fix for KF2, KFHD 7", and KFHD 8.9" is HERE
Please Read the instructions and use the debugger if you run into errors.
My own modified adb drivers for just about all kindles (includes old twrp and cm versions) HERE
Tablet UI Patch for latest CM10.1 build HERE!

Please send complaints to /dev/null
 
amendolaro1
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 216
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stunts513 View Post
You only need a fastboot cable if you brick it in the process. I recommend this tutorial: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2100963

When you goto downgrade the b
ootloader please check the md5sum of the bootloader before flashing it. If you don't and its bad it will hard brick. Also a good idea to put the ROM and gapps on the sdcard ahead of time.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire HD using Tapatalk
I appreciate your help but I read that to tauriel and it is referencing to plug in the fastest cable. Is there another way to answer fast food without the cable?
 
stunts513
Old
#4  
stunts513's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 603
Posts: 2,190
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Braunfels, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by amendolaro1 View Post
I appreciate your help but I read that to tauriel and it is referencing to plug in the fastest cable. Is there another way to answer fast food without the cable?
use a nromal cable and when the kindle is on run "adb reboot bootloader" or
Code:
Select Code
adb shell "su -c 'reboot bootloader'"
My Wallpaper Fix for KF2, KFHD 7", and KFHD 8.9" is HERE
Please Read the instructions and use the debugger if you run into errors.
My own modified adb drivers for just about all kindles (includes old twrp and cm versions) HERE
Tablet UI Patch for latest CM10.1 build HERE!

Please send complaints to /dev/null
 
amendolaro1
Old
(Last edited by amendolaro1; 26th April 2014 at 02:13 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 216
Join Date: Dec 2011
nvm
 
amendolaro1
Old
(Last edited by amendolaro1; 26th April 2014 at 02:28 AM.)
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 216
Join Date: Dec 2011
so i did everything correct(i think?) kindle will boot normal, but when booting, i press the power button and lets me try to boot to recovery but then it just sits there... "booting". i check chcksum and its correct... if i select boot normal it goes to normal kindle... anything/?


***update - reflashed recovery and it worked....** weird.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...