FORUMS

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more

Android Factory Reset Security Flaw and More – XDA TV

Nvidia is releasing a 500Gb SHIELD TV Pro! That and much more news is … more

Android M Code Name: Macadamia Nut Cookie

While the official name for the latest iteration of Android has yet to be revealed, the code … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Unlock bootloader wipe TA partition ?

24th April 2014, 10:45 PM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Hello.

Im abit new to the forum but here goes.

Ive read tons of posts everywhere and there aint any exact answers anywhere to find.

In the past ive never known about the TA and DRM so happy as i am i just unlocked the bootloader on all the phones and still happy. The latest phone is the Xperia Z1. It has been abit buggy to say the least but im hoping software updates will cure this.

Anyway, i rooted my phone and unlocked the bootloader on the .681 firmware and now i am on .757 firmware. Using Doomlords kernel. I thought id check if i could backup my TA partition after unlocking the bootloader. And from what ive read its suppose to be wiped when you unlock the bootloader.

Well it was no problem backing up the TA partion. All files were there and it came out with no errors. So the question, how is this possible ?

/Jonas740
 
 
25th April 2014, 06:07 AM |#2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,152
 
Donate to Me
More
No, it's been wiped, if you restore that TA you will not relock your phone and you will not get the drm keys back, it's possible because unlocking "wipe "your original ta partition and replaced it, so you have backed up a post unlocking partition, not a pre unlocking partition

Also, please post questions in the correct form

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
25th April 2014, 01:19 PM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Aha, just wanted to sort things since ppl were saying that it was completely wiped when unlocking bootloader. And when I checked it wasn't.

Although, after numerous tests with the phone I can't understand what use the DRM keys is. Everything works just like it should without them.

Another question though. If I relock my phone with flashtool. What is the way to unlock it after? The official way won't work again I guess?

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app
25th April 2014, 01:23 PM |#4  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,152
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas740

Aha, just wanted to sort things since ppl were saying that it was completely wiped when unlocking bootloader. And when I checked it wasn't.

Although, after numerous tests with the phone I can't understand what use the DRM keys is. Everything works just like it should without them.

Another question though. If I relock my phone with flashtool. What is the way to unlock it after? The official way won't work again I guess?

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app

No it doesn't, you will need to ensure you use flashtool to re unlock. However, you will also need to make sure you have the correct folder tree
I think maybe the newest version of flashtool does this, but there are a couple of posts in DooMLoRDs thread tutorial thread in the development section about it.

The main difference I notice with an unlocked bootloader is the inability to use PCComapnion to update, but that's not a big issue for as I can create the FTF and create a flashable .zip from it....
25th April 2014, 01:47 PM |#5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Ye updating with Sony software won't work nor the over the air update. But that's about it as I've seen.

But I remember on my Sony Xperia V that when I relocked it, then I could use Sony update again and I did so wiping everything before I sent that one to the repair shop. They repaired it and I got it back. All under warranty

The latest update .757 is really buggy, hope they fix it. Phone restarts sometimes when using the camera.

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app
25th April 2014, 03:18 PM |#6  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 620
 
More
Double thread in the same section? How this is possible?
26th April 2014, 01:44 AM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
because
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos

Double thread in the same section? How this is possible?

because i posted it wrong and couldtn delete it and made the same post in the correct forum and told moderator to delete the wrongly posted one. The moderator moved the thread instead so hence double posting and he kinda locked the wrong thread
26th April 2014, 07:21 AM |#8  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,152
 
Donate to Me
More
No, he locked the one you made second. The first one you made always has priority
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes