Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,563 Members 45,114 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] SIM card doesn't work in evita, but does in endeavoru

Tip us?
 
NyphoX
Old
(Last edited by NyphoX; 26th April 2014 at 12:28 AM.) Reason: Added some information
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 32
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default [Q] SIM card doesn't work in evita, but does in endeavoru

Well, hi there again.

I got a problem with my sim card not being recognized at all in one of my HTC One X(L).

The phone that I use all the time is the "endeavoru" with Android version 4.3.1, CM 10.2.1, kernel 3.1.10 and baseband version 5.1204.167.31. My sim card works all perfectly with this phone. The recovery version is CWM 5.8.4.0 and I got bootloader unlocked, Hboot 1.39.0000. The baseband I just posted was from the CM-overview, bootloader tells me I have "RADIO-5.1204.162.29". S-ON.

Now I have the "evita" with Android version 4.3.1, CM 10.2.1, kernel 3.4.72 and baseband version 0.24p.32.09.06_10.130.32.34L. In this phone, the card is not even recognized. I can put it in there however I want and it will not even ask for the PIN, a unlock code or anything - it just shows the small SIM card icon on the top bar with a question mark in it.
This phone is bootloader unlocked, S-OFF, CID-11111111 and Hboot 2.14.0000. The baseband version shown in the bootloader is the same but is cut off at the underscore. The evita is (vendor told me) unlocked. It is an AT&T phone I bought from USA and got it shipped to EU (germany). I use CWM 6.0.4.6 on this one.

These are all information I thought important, can anyone help me out and tell me why my sim isn't being recognized at all in my second phone but works perfectly in my first? Could it be a hardware issue and not even related to the data I posted? My carrier is btw eplus.

Thanks in advance,
NyphoX

//EDIT: Also, the sim card I use is a normal sim that I cut to the size of a micro-sim. Does that matter? I know that some apps don't work with that sim because they require the micro-version but can that really be the mistake?
 
timmaaa
Old
#2  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5318
Posts: 11,485
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Have you tried any other SIM cards in the device to rule out the card as the problem? From what you're saying it looks like it's hardware related, try sticking a layer or two of tape to the back side of the SIM card.

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita | CandyKat | Torched KK
S-off | 2.18 | TWRP 2.7.1.0
Do not PM me asking for assistance, that's what my Q&A thread is for!
 
NyphoX
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 32
Join Date: Sep 2012
I will get another sim card in a few hours, will try it then.
 
timmaaa
Old
#4  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5318
Posts: 11,485
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
Try the tape in the meantime.

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita | CandyKat | Torched KK
S-off | 2.18 | TWRP 2.7.1.0
Do not PM me asking for assistance, that's what my Q&A thread is for!
 
NyphoX
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 32
Join Date: Sep 2012
Give me some minutes until stores open, sorry. :/
 
NyphoX
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 32
Join Date: Sep 2012
Be blessed for helping me again. Just one layer of tape worked... I demand a norm for sim card trays. ^^
 
timmaaa
Old
#7  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5318
Posts: 11,485
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
It's a relatively common problem with this model.

Sent from my Evita
HTC Evita | CandyKat | Torched KK
S-off | 2.18 | TWRP 2.7.1.0
Do not PM me asking for assistance, that's what my Q&A thread is for!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...