Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,743,029 Members 43,571 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TUTORIAL]How to emulate KitKat 4.4 in a virtual machine | Absolutely Noob friendly!

Tip us?
 
Shialie
Old
(Last edited by Shialie; 23rd April 2014 at 08:31 PM.)
#1  
Shialie's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 60
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bremen

 
DONATE TO ME
Tutorial [TUTORIAL]How to emulate KitKat 4.4 in a virtual machine | Absolutely Noob friendly!


Hey Guys, in this Tutorial I'll gonna show you how to emulate Android KitKat in a virtual machine.
Preparation: Download this modified ISO Image: http://goo.gl/5iP47I




Download Virtual Box for your operating System.


Open VirtualBox. Click "New" & select the same attributes like them on the screenshot.


Select about 1600 Megabyte of RAM. (Or try to stay in the green mark.)


Klick "Create".


Choose "Dynamically allocated"


Select the Hard Disk size of your Virtual Machine. I took 8 GB and I recommend that value as minimum.


Choose "Create a virtual hard disk drive now "and klick "Create". Then Start your machine.


Now the emulated BIOS should start and you should be able to choose your downloaded .iso by clicking on the little folder icon with the green arrow.


When you see this screen, choose "Installation"


Now select "Create/Modify partitions"


Now you see your virtual hard disk as "free space", select "New", then "Primary" and then enter again.


Now you should see you created partition called "sda1" with the Size you made your virtual hard disk. Now navigate at the bottom to "Write" and klick enter. Confirm all questions and then klick "Quit".


Now choose your "sda1".


Format "sda1" as a ext3 filesystem.


Now reboot.


Now, before booting Android, choose under Devices>CD/DVD Devices>Host Drive, so that your iso is not selected anymore.


Power off your machine.


Start again and choose the first boot method.


Now your Android should start and be patient, it's the first start.


Huraaaaaaay! Now you have a great Android virtual Machine with Android KitKat.


Note: For VMWare Player it's exactly the same, just ignore the first three steps and select from beginning the .iso file.

- Shialie




The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Shialie For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fantagec
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 50
Join Date: Apr 2013
Nice tuto Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to fantagec For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rv0000s
Old
#3  
rv0000s's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 158
Posts: 233
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Delhi
I can't get it working..
whenever I choose Installation this happens..

Prud wner f..

 
Shialie
Old
(Last edited by Shialie; 24th April 2014 at 07:57 AM.)
#4  
Shialie's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 60
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bremen

 
DONATE TO ME
Then tell me every step you did and how you did it

Tippie di Tap from my S3
MY DEVICE
 
 
Android-xp
Old
#5  
Android-xp's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 29
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rv0000s View Post
I can't get it working..
whenever I choose Installation this happens..

You may didn't set up your VM right?
 
rv0000s
Old
#6  
rv0000s's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 158
Posts: 233
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Delhi
Quote:
Originally Posted by Android-xp View Post
You may didn't set up your VM right?
off-course I set it ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shialie View Post
Then tell me every step you did and how you did it

Tippie di Tap from my S3
I did every step you have written. But when I select installation it should show me the disk partitioning screen but instead of it just show 'restarting in 60 secs'

searched google but didn't find the solution..

BTW nice tut..
Prud wner f..

 
Shialie
Old
#7  
Shialie's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 60
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bremen

 
DONATE TO ME
Did you set your sda1 as "write" partition? (12th Pic)
MY DEVICE
 
 
Shialie
Old
#8  
Shialie's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 60
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bremen

 
DONATE TO ME
If you don't find a solution I can export my already created VM, upload it to my Mega-account and then you can import it..

Tippie di Tap from my S3
MY DEVICE
 
 
gidano
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 90
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ajka

 
DONATE TO ME
Magyarul: http://sympda.info/articles.php?article_id=126
Használjuk magyarul az Androidot!
SymPDA Android

The Following User Says Thank You to gidano For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more