Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,906 Members 42,592 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Camera failed not only on Verizon. Mine just died.

Tip us?
 
jarablue
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Camera failed not only on Verizon. Mine just died.

Well yesterday I tried opening my camera app and the phone hung. Then when I killed all the apps I tried opening it again, it said camera failed. I tried resetting the phone and even took it into the Sprint store. The guys at the store said I was the first one that they heard having this problem on Sprint. They replaced the phone there on the spot since I was in the 14 day window. I bought the S5 on release day on the 18th.

Hope this new phone works out. But if this is happening across carriers well...

Anyways the new phone is working ok. See how it is in a week with taking some pics.
 
GorillaPimp
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 693
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Just happened to me on a 3 day old phone. A restart and it's gone. Uninstalled Google Camera which is the only third party cam app I've used. Any more issues and I'm returning the phone and possibly closing this new account. I have horrible service and they're playing stupid games with my account.
LG G3, GS5, GS2, G Tab 3,G Tab 10.1, iPhone 5S, iPad Air, Kindle FireHD, Nexus One, Nexus 4, Nook, Palm Pre, Sensation
 
jarablue
Old
(Last edited by jarablue; 26th April 2014 at 01:03 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GorillaPimp View Post
Just happened to me on a 3 day old phone. A restart and it's gone. Uninstalled Google Camera which is the only third party cam app I've used. Any more issues and I'm returning the phone and possibly closing this new account. I have horrible service and they're playing stupid games with my account.
Yeah I am on the fence now. I really don't know what to do. If the camera dies again outside the 14 days, I have to wait for the device to get replaced.

 
gtuansdiamm
Old
#4  
gtuansdiamm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 473
Posts: 2,927
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York
Verizon and samsung admitted the problem exists and fix for free.
Maybe if sprint s5's fail like crazy too itll apply to use also

Sent from my SM-G900P using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Why save the world when you can drop Axis
 
GorillaPimp
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 693
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtuansdiamm View Post
Verizon and samsung admitted the problem exists and fix for free.
Maybe if sprint s5's fail like crazy too itll apply to use also

Sent from my SM-G900P using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I think the Samsung statement applies to all S5 users. I'm not sure if you can get a replacement if it's only intermittent but I hear Sprint will replace units on the spot for the issue. I'm going to a corp store later, I'll ask about what they'll do if it keeps happening to me.
LG G3, GS5, GS2, G Tab 3,G Tab 10.1, iPhone 5S, iPad Air, Kindle FireHD, Nexus One, Nexus 4, Nook, Palm Pre, Sensation
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes