Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Is my sim reader shorting?

OP _tru_

26th April 2014, 10:21 PM   |  #1  
_tru_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 28
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Slight Water dmg a few months ago, but recently cam & haptic feedback went out. Sent it to Squaretrade & they "fixed" it then sent it back. Now I keep getting "enter password to activate new sim" happens randomly but often right after reboots

Sent from my LG-E970 using xda app-developers app
26th April 2014, 10:48 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 651
 
1,804 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by _tru_

Slight Water dmg a few months ago, but recently cam & haptic feedback went out. Sent it to Squaretrade & they "fixed" it then sent it back. Now I keep getting "enter password to activate new sim" happens randomly but often right after reboots

Sent from my LG-E970 using xda app-developers app

Silly question but I have to ask. Are you certain it is installed properly? When I first bought my phone the salesman put the sim in but didn't put it in all the way. Only thee plastic trap door was holding it in.
26th April 2014, 11:35 PM   |  #3  
_tru_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 28
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adfurgerson

Silly question but I have to ask. Are you certain it is installed properly? When I first bought my phone the salesman put the sim in but didn't put it in all the way. Only thee plastic trap door was holding it in.

Yep. Your post made me check it again just to be sure. All is secure. Annoyed though, last time they "fixed" it it took 6 business days to get it back. Front want that to happen again might have to sell it if it keeps up. I've heard of the sim reader failing, but under different circumstances
27th April 2014, 03:03 AM   |  #4  
mkfryan's Avatar
Senior Member
Sturgis SD
Thanks Meter: 241
 
545 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Try to take the back cover off there is vids on YouTube make sure the ribbon for the sim is properly set to the board.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
27th April 2014, 04:10 AM   |  #5  
_tru_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 28
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Ok I'll try that now

Sent from my LG-E970 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes