Do You Check for App Updates Regularly?

Do you let app updates happen automatically or do you regularly check for them? We’re … more

Find The Best Apps With Google’s Picks & Other Tricks

The Google Play Store, weighing in with more than 1.4 million apps at last … more

Dynamic Pop for Note 4 (N910T & 910W8)

With the release of the Canadian Lollipop ROM for the Note 4, T-Mobile users can also enjoy the … more

Sunday Debate: Better to Buy Older or Newer Hardware?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on New vs. Old. Come with your opinions and feel … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Encrypted? Have tried mostly everything.

24th April 2014, 10:13 PM |#1  
ErikFry's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Oakland
Thanks Meter: 2
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I want start by saying that I did not take the 4.3 OTA from Verizon. I flashed my phone from 4.2.1 to 4.4.1 cm11 and various KitKat Roms. My last being mastamoons version. I wanted to flash back to a 4.3 TW ROM for stability. KitKat has been wonderful the days it decided to be 100% stable. But the myriad of issues plaguing my daily apps, freezing or phone rebooting warranted a flash to TW 4.3. I made a forum post because I was not entirely sure how to flash from 4.4 AOSP back to 4.3 TW and the advice given to me on CleanROM 8.1 thread was to format data, cache, dalvik and flash the zip. I did so and everything was fine. No bootloop (yet, kinda. Will get to that). So my phone rebooted and the first try got me to the start screen. Here is where things go wrong. It asks me for my PIN or Password as if it is encrypted. I've never encrypted my phone so I was perplexed. I thought maybe I triggered KNOX? But CleanRom 8.1 is touchwiz. But it doesn't not include KNOX from what I've read. I've wiped system and tried multiple methods of formatting the phone and I always get back to the same problem .

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
 
 
24th April 2014, 10:18 PM |#2  
ErikFry's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Oakland
Thanks Meter: 2
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
The bootloop I solved after
I formatted /system. I even restored my previous cm10.2.1 backup which was on 4.3 and I did a manual factory reset from settings. Then I formatted data, cache, dalvik and still nothing.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
25th April 2014, 11:30 PM |#3  
ShapesBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,003
 
5,400 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikFry

The bootloop I solved after
I formatted /system. I even restored my previous cm10.2.1 backup which was on 4.3 and I did a manual factory reset from settings. Then I formatted data, cache, dalvik and still nothing.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app

Try doing a complete wipe. What recovery are you using?
26th April 2014, 05:18 PM |#4  
ErikFry's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Oakland
Thanks Meter: 2
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I have wiped system, data and cache. Isn't that a full wipe? I'm running the latest clockwork mod recovery. Thank you for your response.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
27th April 2014, 12:48 AM |#5  
ShapesBlue's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,003
 
5,400 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikFry

I have wiped system, data and cache. Isn't that a full wipe? I'm running the latest clockwork mod recovery. Thank you for your response.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app

Try another recovery maybe? I did get your PM

Sent from my S3 on AOKP
27th April 2014, 02:29 AM |#6  
Thebear j koss's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 11,732
 
7,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikFry

I have wiped system, data and cache. Isn't that a full wipe? I'm running the latest clockwork mod recovery. Thank you for your response.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app

You need to wipe your internal sdcard. Backup any important files to your external SD or a computer. Then wipe everything. System. Data. Internal SD card. Caches. Format system. Then flash the modem in the op if you haven't already. Should be in the op of the ROM you want to flash. Then flash the ROM. Might take up to 10-15 minutes for initial boot so be patient. You should be all good from there.

Thebe@r'$ G@L@XY- eliminate white backgrounds and any form of ics/holo blue.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Thebear j koss For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2014, 02:56 PM |#7  
ErikFry's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Oakland
Thanks Meter: 2
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Thanks man. Will try tonight.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes