Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,684 Members 47,760 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[SOLVED] When going stock is not easy like in the guides

Tip us?
 
butcher211
Old
(Last edited by butcher211; 27th April 2014 at 06:41 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 136
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Berlin, Germany
Default [SOLVED] When going stock is not easy like in the guides

Hi,
i can't get to stock with the two RUU methods.

The RUU.exe file doesnt starts on both Windows 7 (64-Bit) PCs. I rightclick the exe file (4.19.401.9) and wanna start it with admin privileges. But an error is appearing.

When i want to install the ruu.zip (2.19.401.1) than it says: too many links.

I have s-off (firewater), unlocked bootloader, custom-rom (CM) and custom recovery (twrp).

I ve read that i have to lock my bootloader before i have to flash ruu.exe

But there are two ways for locking my bootloader:

fastboot oem lock

or

adb shell

su (if needed to get a # prompt)

echo -ne '\x00\x00\x00\x00' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 bs=1 seek=33796
(i would very strongly recomend you copy/paste this)

exit
(exit a second time if you need to to get back to a normal > prompt)

adb reboot bootloader

Which one of both should i do? But when my exe file doesnt starts i think i dont have to do it and i just should try the zip method. What are the requirements for ruu.zip? Oh, and is it important that the ruuzip file should have the original name? i renamed it to ruu.zip

Here are my links which i have used:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2358738
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2475914

*EDIT*
Maybe you should know what i want to do. I just want an device without Tampered.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ruu-exe error.PNG
Views:	22
Size:	30.0 KB
ID:	2711594  
 
RakOne
Old
#2  
RakOne's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 119
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Duisburg
I got the same error because my anti virus aborted the download so I downloaded only the half ruu.exe :/

Gesendet von meinem HTC One mit Tapatalk
 
nateboi81
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 576
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne
If all you want to do is remove tampered there are a million different guides. You don't need to run a ruu. Google it

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
 
butcher211
Old
(Last edited by butcher211; 27th April 2014 at 11:48 AM.) Reason: see *EDIT*
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 136
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Berlin, Germany
i have to add something: i just want my htc one like the day i unpacked it. stock rom, locked and no tampered because i want my device itself to update OTAs. I dont want to do it manually anymore. I just want full HTC One stock.

And have no antivirus software on my PCs. Dont need it. The problem sits in front of the PC in the most cases i think. But i try to check the hash sum first.

*EDIT*
I have installed the latest stock ROM from here now just as a compromise solution until i can go 100% stock.
 
nateboi81
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 576
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne
If you can't get a ruu to install. If you flash the stock recovery if you can find it for the version you are on you can accept otas

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
 
butcher211
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 136
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Berlin, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by nateboi81 View Post
If you can't get a ruu to install. If you flash the stock recovery if you can find it for the version you are on you can accept otas

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
I have the stock recovery too. When I flash it, I can flash ruu.zip too?
 
nkk71
Old
#7  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,911
Posts: 5,878
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by NONAME111 View Post
*EDIT*
Maybe you should know what i want to do. I just want an device without Tampered.
if you're ok with adb commands use this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2477792
or this tool: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2527194

I recommend running the adb commands in a custom recovery (because you'll automatically have superuser privileges)

and, obviously this is only possible with S-OFF, and I highly recommend you never go back to S-ON!!


if you do need to go back to 100% stock, you can also take a look at my guide: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2541082
(recommend you skip S-On)
if you have questions, post them in my thread along with a "fastboot getvar all" (excluding IMEI and s/n)
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
seanicca
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 320
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stockport
when trying to run ruu.exe on mine I had to downgrade my hboot (from 1.56 to 1.44) first for it to run. Once I'd downgraded the RUU ran straight away
 
butcher211
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 136
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Berlin, Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
if you're ok with adb commands use this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2477792
or this tool: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2527194

I recommend running the adb commands in a custom recovery (because you'll automatically have superuser privileges)

and, obviously this is only possible with S-OFF, and I highly recommend you never go back to S-ON!!


if you do need to go back to 100% stock, you can also take a look at my guide: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2541082
(recommend you skip S-On)
if you have questions, post them in my thread along with a "fastboot getvar all" (excluding IMEI and s/n)
Thank you!

I have no stock ROM with locked bootloader, no tampered and s-on.

Now I feel "clean".

Thread can be closed!

PS: The best part is to update from my Android v4.1.2 with OTAs to Android v4.4.2! I like updating things!
 
nkk71
Old
#10  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,911
Posts: 5,878
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by NONAME111 View Post
Thank you!

I have no stock ROM with locked bootloader, no tampered and s-on.

Now I feel "clean".

Thread can be closed!

PS: The best part is to update from my Android v4.1.2 with OTAs to Android v4.4.2! I like updating things!
no problem,

and if you could also edit the main thread title to include [SOLVED] (go to 1st post click EDIT, at the bottom of the edit window click GO ADVANCED, then you can edit the main title), thanks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more

Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more