Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,642 Members 44,407 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Trouble flashing CWM (sgh-t999v)

Tip us?
 
puner89
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 138
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Trouble flashing CWM (sgh-t999v)

http://galaxys3root.com/galaxy-s3-ro...oofnoob-proof/

1) I did everything in that tutorial and it worked without any flaw.

But when I rebooted the phone to enter CWM, my phone instead booted into stock android recovery.

How can I make CWM permanent?

2) When I look through custom roms on this site I have noticed the different labels(D2lte, D2tmo, D2usa).

Can you please tell me which label is with my Wind SGH-T999V so that I know which rom I can and cannot install.
 
serio22
Old
#2  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 702
Posts: 2,192
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
1) Uncheck auto reboot in Odin, After flashing cwm passes unplug cable, remove battery, reinsert battery, and boot straight into recovery..

2) any in this forum should be ok

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
puner89
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 138
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22 View Post
1) Uncheck auto reboot in Odin, After flashing cwm passes unplug cable, remove battery, reinsert battery, and boot straight into recovery..

2) any in this forum should be ok

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
1) I did exactly that. The first time I got into CWM I flashed the superuser.zip file. After that I rebooted the phone and confirmed root was established. Then when I rebooted the phone to install a custom rom, I was instead booted into stock android recovery.
 
serio22
Old
#4  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 702
Posts: 2,192
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by puner89 View Post
1) I did exactly that. The first time I got into CWM I flashed the superuser.zip file. After that I rebooted the phone and confirmed root was established. Then when I rebooted the phone to install a custom rom, I was instead booted into stock android recovery.
You don't need to flash superuser zip if you're gonna flash ROMs, they're all prerooted

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
puner89
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 138
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22 View Post
You don't need to flash superuser zip if you're gonna flash ROMs, they're all prerooted

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
I dont think you understand what I am saying.

This was a unrooted phone. I flashed the PDA file via odin. Then I booted into CWM (for the first time ever) to flash the superuser.zip file (to get root).

Then I turned the phone on to confirm that the phone had been rooted, which it is.

Then I rebooted the phone to install a custom rom, but I didnt get CWM recovery I got stock android recovery.
 
serio22
Old
#6  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 702
Posts: 2,192
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
There is a way to fix it if you search, but what I am saying is that you don't need to flash superuser even if it wasn't rooted.. It seemed like you wanted to flash a ROM so as long as you can get into cwm just flash the rom and you're good

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#7  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6,054
Posts: 8,689
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Or flash root66 firmware, then install recovery whichever way you prefer. Just another option.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk
 
puner89
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 138
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by serio22 View Post
There is a way to fix it if you search, but what I am saying is that you don't need to flash superuser even if it wasn't rooted.. It seemed like you wanted to flash a ROM so as long as you can get into cwm just flash the rom and you're good

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
If a custom rom has the label d2lte or d2tmo next to it, will it work with my wind t999v?
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#9  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6,054
Posts: 8,689
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more

Increase Your Multitasking Workflow with C-Floating Windows

Technology has put life on the fast track. Lazy, relaxed days have turned into … more

Compile Your Own Kernel From Source with Comprehensive Tutorial

One glance at any developer section of any device forum on XDA and youll find … more