Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,161 Members 41,601 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] No period button on number pad?

Tip us?
 
infinite012
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2011
Default [Q] No period button on number pad?

I'm having difficulty finding how to input a period when this phone uses the number pad. Screenshot of the issue is below, but I just find it odd that the period button is not readily available. Brand new Galaxy S5, no root, no ROM, no custom launcher. Just a plain Jane TouchWiz issue?

 
infinite012
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2011
So, nobody has this issue? My wife's Note3 also seems to exhibit the same key pad behavior on the fuelly site.
 
infinite012
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2011
Anybody?
 
Derekwolfee
Old
#4  
Derekwolfee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 106
Join Date: Feb 2012
I use swiftkey as my keyboard.. No problem.. Much better keyboard IMHO

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
 
jay2the1
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 45
Join Date: Sep 2012
I've always found Samsung's keyboards to be a little on the inferior side, hence I just straight install Google Keyboard from the Play Store, much better, worth a try and because it's free you don't loose anything from it.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...utmethod.latin
 
dragon135
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 413
Join Date: Jan 2011
Let me guess. It is because the text field input type is number. As you can see the web expect numbers for gallon and miles. The web tells the keyboard to show the number mode. It is a feature.

Sent from GT-I9500
 
infinite012
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: May 2011
I guess I'll just install Swype. I really wanted to like TouchWiz...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes