FORUMS

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more

Verizon Moto X 2014 Receives Root On Kitkat 4.4.4

The Verizon Moto X 2014 has finally received root, albeit only on Kitkat 4.4.4 … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

UK Barclays and Root

20th April 2014, 07:17 PM |#1  
Crocodile1973's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Does anyone in the UK use any temp unroot app, so they can use Barclays app's.

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
 
20th April 2014, 07:33 PM |#2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,048
 
Donate to Me
More
It doesn't work.

Try the root cloak module in xposed, but Barclays looks for root in system so it cant be hidden
20th April 2014, 07:35 PM |#3  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 620
 
More
Just type Barclay's Mobile Banking Root Fix on XDA, that thread will help you a bit, I think.
20th April 2014, 07:38 PM |#4  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,048
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos

Just type Barclay's Mobile Banking Root Fix on XDA, that thread will help you a bit, I think.

does that work?... They must be a new update since I last looked, but thanks,

hoping for a root cloak for sky go as well.....

EDIT
As I thought, that wont work...its been patched in a way that will be EXTREMELY difficult to fix
20th April 2014, 07:50 PM |#5  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 620
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

does that work?... They must be a new update since I last looked, but thanks,

hoping for a root cloak for sky go as well.....

EDIT
As I thought, that wont work...its been patched in a way that will be EXTREMELY difficult to fix

Sorry, I thought that was the fix! ...but I saw now it was dropped...all 3 methods are broken..
25th April 2014, 04:45 PM |#6  
Kirkymole's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Swindon
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
I'd be very interested to know why they don't allow root users use of the app. Anyone any ideas?

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
25th April 2014, 06:25 PM |#7  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag King Grumpy Lord from Frown Town, Grumpy Land
Thanks Meter: 5,048
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirkymole

I'd be very interested to know why they don't allow root users use of the app. Anyone any ideas?

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Its a potential security risk as root means you can see sensitive data within the app, or personal data

Its to protect the customer
The Following User Says Thank You to gregbradley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2014, 05:57 PM |#8  
Kirkymole's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Swindon
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

Its a potential security risk as root means you can see sensitive data within the app, or personal data

Its to protect the customer

That makes sense, seems a bit overkill but if it's for the customers benefit then it's all good. I'm with TSB sadly, but their app works on rooted handsets.

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
27th April 2014, 08:38 AM |#9  
dladz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 853
 
Donate to Me
More
How often does the app check for root? What if the app was installed on stock and then you rooted? Could the app be modded from that point? Or a previous version be used instead?

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
27th April 2014, 11:08 PM |#10  
Fiso's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 163
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

Its a potential security risk as root means you can see sensitive data within the app, or personal data

Its to protect the customer

Lol its about as safe as using a desktop. Root is like administration rights on Windows app. Besides all other banking apps don't have the same restrictions why only Barclay's?
There is no perfect justification for what they are doing.
Besides using Barclays on desktop regardless of platform is more dangerous that root on phone. On your phone atleast you know what app is doing what and you can stop it. On desktop you don't know what app you've installed and what's it doing.
yup owns Z1 and stuff.
Last edited by Fiso; 27th April 2014 at 11:11 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes