Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

UK Barclays and Root

OP Crocodile1973

20th April 2014, 08:17 PM   |  #1  
Crocodile1973's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
551 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Does anyone in the UK use any temp unroot app, so they can use Barclays app's.

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
20th April 2014, 08:33 PM   |  #2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,528
 
9,988 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
It doesn't work.

Try the root cloak module in xposed, but Barclays looks for root in system so it cant be hidden
20th April 2014, 08:35 PM   |  #3  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 617
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Just type Barclay's Mobile Banking Root Fix on XDA, that thread will help you a bit, I think.
20th April 2014, 08:38 PM   |  #4  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,528
 
9,988 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos

Just type Barclay's Mobile Banking Root Fix on XDA, that thread will help you a bit, I think.

does that work?... They must be a new update since I last looked, but thanks,

hoping for a root cloak for sky go as well.....

EDIT
As I thought, that wont work...its been patched in a way that will be EXTREMELY difficult to fix
20th April 2014, 08:50 PM   |  #5  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 617
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

does that work?... They must be a new update since I last looked, but thanks,

hoping for a root cloak for sky go as well.....

EDIT
As I thought, that wont work...its been patched in a way that will be EXTREMELY difficult to fix

Sorry, I thought that was the fix! ...but I saw now it was dropped...all 3 methods are broken..
25th April 2014, 05:45 PM   |  #6  
Kirkymole's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Swindon
Thanks Meter: 61
 
362 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
I'd be very interested to know why they don't allow root users use of the app. Anyone any ideas?

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
25th April 2014, 07:25 PM   |  #7  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,528
 
9,988 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirkymole

I'd be very interested to know why they don't allow root users use of the app. Anyone any ideas?

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Its a potential security risk as root means you can see sensitive data within the app, or personal data

Its to protect the customer
The Following User Says Thank You to gregbradley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2014, 06:57 PM   |  #8  
Kirkymole's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Swindon
Thanks Meter: 61
 
362 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

Its a potential security risk as root means you can see sensitive data within the app, or personal data

Its to protect the customer

That makes sense, seems a bit overkill but if it's for the customers benefit then it's all good. I'm with TSB sadly, but their app works on rooted handsets.

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
27th April 2014, 09:38 AM   |  #9  
dladz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 782
 
3,811 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
How often does the app check for root? What if the app was installed on stock and then you rooted? Could the app be modded from that point? Or a previous version be used instead?

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
28th April 2014, 12:08 AM   |  #10  
RealiableCandy4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley

Its a potential security risk as root means you can see sensitive data within the app, or personal data

Its to protect the customer

Lol its about as safe as using a desktop. Root is like administration rights on Windows app. Besides all other banking apps don't have the same restrictions why only Barclay's?
There is no perfect justification for what they are doing.
Besides using Barclays on desktop regardless of platform is more dangerous that root on phone. On your phone atleast you know what app is doing what and you can stop it. On desktop you don't know what app you've installed and what's it doing.
yup owns Z1 and stuff.
Last edited by RealiableCandy4; 28th April 2014 at 12:11 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes