Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,156 Members 40,098 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

UK Barclays and Root

Tip us?
 
Crocodile1973
Old
#1  
Crocodile1973's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 545
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default UK Barclays and Root

Does anyone in the UK use any temp unroot app, so they can use Barclays app's.

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
gregbradley
Old
#2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3743
Posts: 8,866
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
It doesn't work.

Try the root cloak module in xposed, but Barclays looks for root in system so it cant be hidden

How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4

If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.

 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton


[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.


 
eclyptos
Old
#3  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 612
Posts: 2,990
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Just type Barclay's Mobile Banking Root Fix on XDA, that thread will help you a bit, I think.
IF I HELPED DO NOT SAY THANKS, CLICK IT.
My Evolution: Sony Xperia Z1 - UB + 4.3 Rooted + Deodexed, HTC HD2, HTC Diamond 2, HTC HD Blackstone, Nokia 7070 Prism, Qtek 9100, Nokia 3100, Motorola T720i, Nokia 3310, Sony Ericson PF 768 (Blue)

How Get Root on Sony Xperia Z1 with Locked Bootloader and the Latest Android 4.4
 
gregbradley
Old
#4  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3743
Posts: 8,866
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos View Post
Just type Barclay's Mobile Banking Root Fix on XDA, that thread will help you a bit, I think.
does that work?... They must be a new update since I last looked, but thanks,

hoping for a root cloak for sky go as well.....

EDIT
As I thought, that wont work...its been patched in a way that will be EXTREMELY difficult to fix

How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4

If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.

 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton


[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.


 
eclyptos
Old
#5  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 612
Posts: 2,990
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley View Post
does that work?... They must be a new update since I last looked, but thanks,

hoping for a root cloak for sky go as well.....

EDIT
As I thought, that wont work...its been patched in a way that will be EXTREMELY difficult to fix
Sorry, I thought that was the fix! ...but I saw now it was dropped...all 3 methods are broken..
IF I HELPED DO NOT SAY THANKS, CLICK IT.
My Evolution: Sony Xperia Z1 - UB + 4.3 Rooted + Deodexed, HTC HD2, HTC Diamond 2, HTC HD Blackstone, Nokia 7070 Prism, Qtek 9100, Nokia 3100, Motorola T720i, Nokia 3310, Sony Ericson PF 768 (Blue)

How Get Root on Sony Xperia Z1 with Locked Bootloader and the Latest Android 4.4
 
Kirkymole
Old
#6  
Kirkymole's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 357
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Swindon
I'd be very interested to know why they don't allow root users use of the app. Anyone any ideas?

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
If it's broke, use a hammer. If that fails, you're not using a big enough hammer.
 
gregbradley
Old
#7  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3743
Posts: 8,866
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirkymole View Post
I'd be very interested to know why they don't allow root users use of the app. Anyone any ideas?

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Its a potential security risk as root means you can see sensitive data within the app, or personal data

Its to protect the customer

How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4

If you are unsure, then read this.
If you are still unsure, watch this.

 

My contributions.
If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants. Sir Isaac Newton


[X10] | [NEO] | [Xperia T/TX] |
[Xperia Z1]
You are free to share my work, but please provide the correct credits and a link to my original thread.


The Following User Says Thank You to gregbradley For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Kirkymole
Old
#8  
Kirkymole's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 357
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Swindon
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley View Post
Its a potential security risk as root means you can see sensitive data within the app, or personal data

Its to protect the customer
That makes sense, seems a bit overkill but if it's for the customers benefit then it's all good. I'm with TSB sadly, but their app works on rooted handsets.

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
If it's broke, use a hammer. If that fails, you're not using a big enough hammer.
 
dladz
Old
#9  
dladz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 736
Posts: 3,596
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Liverpool

 
DONATE TO ME
How often does the app check for root? What if the app was installed on stock and then you rooted? Could the app be modded from that point? Or a previous version be used instead?

Sent from my C6903 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Phones: Moto 888 - Nokia 6110 - Nokia 3210 - Nokia 3310 - Nokia 8210 - Samsung e250 - Sony F305 - LG Viewty - G1 - HTC Hero - HTC Desire HD - HTC Sensation - Nokia Lumia 800 - HTC EVO 3D - Samsung i9300 - Asus Prime TF201 silver - HTC One - Galaxy Camera - Z1
 
RealiableCandy4
Old
(Last edited by RealiableCandy4; 27th April 2014 at 11:11 PM.)
#10  
RealiableCandy4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 154
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregbradley View Post
Its a potential security risk as root means you can see sensitive data within the app, or personal data

Its to protect the customer
Lol its about as safe as using a desktop. Root is like administration rights on Windows app. Besides all other banking apps don't have the same restrictions why only Barclay's?
There is no perfect justification for what they are doing.
Besides using Barclays on desktop regardless of platform is more dangerous that root on phone. On your phone atleast you know what app is doing what and you can stop it. On desktop you don't know what app you've installed and what's it doing.
yup owns Z1 and stuff.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Rotation Lets You Take Full Control of Your Device’s Orientation Settings

To be brutally honest, the native options for screen … more

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more