Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more
Post Reply

Unlocking bootloader allowed, why not root?

OP Supish

27th April 2014, 08:53 AM   |  #1  
Supish's Avatar
OP Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 2
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
If sony is completely fine with us unlocking hte bootloader, as shown here: http://unlockbootloader.sonymobile.c...ng-boot-loader
Why did they make it so difficult to root the device?
27th April 2014, 09:13 AM   |  #2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 4,162
 
9,672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supish

If sony is completely fine with us unlocking hte bootloader, as shown here: http://unlockbootloader.sonymobile.c...ng-boot-loader
Why did they make it so difficult to root the device?

If you can unlock the bootloader it is a very easy 2 second job to root.
27th April 2014, 08:25 PM   |  #3  
Supish's Avatar
OP Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 2
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
But id have to downgrade my firmware. And my data would be erased. Seems so needless

Sent from my C6906 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
27th April 2014, 10:40 PM   |  #4  
RealiableCandy4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supish

But id have to downgrade my firmware. And my data would be erased. Seems so needless

Sent from my C6906 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

That's only to back up TA upgrading with root from 4.2.2 is to 4.3 or 4.4 is not supported.
Upgrade to stock then unlock

Also I think losing all data is a sacrifice worth it besidesvyou can back up data Sony provides you with the tools or just copy SD card to desktop and restore when done.

OOORRRRRRRR.....

You can get pre-rooted firmware here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2711982
Backup TA and unlock(if you want but I'm getting the sense that you just want root)

The last option is the preferred one no downgrade pain nonsense.

And finally to answer your Question: Sony is gonna Sony they say they don't mind you unlocking boot loader but the remove the good stuff like BIONZ. Now just imagine with root in which they never claimed to not mind about.



yup owns Z1 and stuff.
Last edited by RealiableCandy4; 27th April 2014 at 10:46 PM.
27th April 2014, 11:10 PM   |  #5  
Supish's Avatar
OP Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 2
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RealiableCandy4

That's only to back up TA upgrading with root from 4.2.2 is to 4.3 or 4.4 is not supported.
Upgrade to stock then unlock

Also I think losing all data is a sacrifice worth it besidesvyou can back up data Sony provides you with the tools or just copy SD card to desktop and restore when done.

OOORRRRRRRR.....

You can get pre-rooted firmware here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2711982
Backup TA and unlock(if you want but I'm getting the sense that you just want root)

The last option is the preferred one no downgrade pain nonsense.

And finally to answer your Question: Sony is gonna Sony they say they don't mind you unlocking boot loader but the remove the good stuff like BIONZ. Now just imagine with root in which they never claimed to not mind about.



yup owns Z1 and stuff.

Ive checked my phone on *#*#SERVICE#*#* and it says bootloader unlock allowed: no. What do you recommend I do?
27th April 2014, 11:14 PM   |  #6  
RealiableCandy4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
164 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supish

Ive checked my phone on *#*#SERVICE#*#* and it says bootloader unlock allowed: no. What do you recommend I do?

As for unlocking bootloader there's no hope. But you can still get root by flashing pre-rooted firmware in the link I provided in previous post. Just follow the locked bootloader instructions.

yup owns Z1 and stuff. Also if I've helped you don't forget to hit THANKS - actions speak louder that words.
Last edited by RealiableCandy4; 27th April 2014 at 11:17 PM.
27th April 2014, 11:17 PM   |  #7  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 616
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
I did not thought that the first question of the OP was to root the phone ....

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z1 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank