Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,650 Members 39,854 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] button combination to force a shutdown

Tip us?
 
ericbergan
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 79
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default [Q] button combination to force a shutdown

I must be searching for the wrong things. What is the button combination to force a shutdown on the Note Pro? Thanks.

eric
 
Serinety
Old
#2  
Serinety's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 329
Posts: 742
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Davis, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Press and hold:

Power only - power off
Power + vol up - recovery
Power + vol dn - download mode.

Is this what you are needing?

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Serinety For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ericbergan
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 79
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serinety View Post
Press and hold:

Power only - power off
Power + vol up - recovery
Power + vol dn - download mode.

Is this what you are needing?

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
Those were what I was expecting. But the power+vol combinations aren't doing anything on mine. It is a Verizon LTE version, but I wouldn't think that would make a difference?
 
muzzy996
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 146
Posts: 650
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
They should work . . . best way IMO is to just do a shutdown from within the OS, then while the tablet's off press and hold a vol/home combo prior to pressing and holding the power button. Once the model number splash screen appears let go of power first while holding the other two . . hold the other two for a second or so and then let go.
 
ericbergan
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 79
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzzy996 View Post
They should work . . . best way IMO is to just do a shutdown from within the OS, then while the tablet's off press and hold a vol/home combo prior to pressing and holding the power button. Once the model number splash screen appears let go of power first while holding the other two . . hold the other two for a second or so and then let go.
Ok, this is really silly, but I don't find any way from the Note Pro's OS to do a power down, other than the popup from holding the power button?

(Sorry, bit of background, this all started from a problem that my power button was only working to wake the tablet, but after that, had no effect whatsoever. After mucho playing, for no apparent reason, finally the popup menu came up, I did a restart, and it's been 100% since than. But it has left me worried how to do a shutdown if the power button isn't working. No pulling the batteries on these things.)

eric
 
muzzy996
Old
(Last edited by muzzy996; 26th April 2014 at 06:11 AM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 146
Posts: 650
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericbergan View Post
Ok, this is really silly, but I don't find any way from the Note Pro's OS to do a power down, other than the popup from holding the power button?
Correct, when booted into android OS a momentary holding of the power button will bring up the power menu one option within which will be to power off. This is typical of many android devices.

Are you sure your power button is operating normally?

I have read elsewhere of a user having issue with his power button not feeling right (less travel than anticipated without much tactile feedback when depressed indicating possible defect).

I would like to add for clarity that there is no force shutdown via hardware button, only force reboot. Holding power down for several seconds will force a full reboot. Holding it down briefly to get the power menu gets the power off option in the menu to fully turn the tablet off. If your tablet reboots after this option is chosen then something is wrong.
 
ericbergan
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 79
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzzy996 View Post
Are you sure your power button is operating normally?
No, because after returning to working fine yesterday it is acting up again. Not a hardware problem - if the tablet is off, the button will always work to wake it up. But once again, it is now not being responded to when the tablet is awake - either a quick push, a long push, or in combination with the other buttons.

It seems like this is a software problem, either driver or app, since mechanically the button works every time to wake up the tablet. And, of course, I can't do a shutdown or reboot to see if that clears it, because its not responding to the power button. Can't remap the power button because no root available on the Verizon LTE model. Frustrating.

eric
 
muzzy996
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 146
Posts: 650
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
I would take it back to Verizon. IMO software shouldn't interfere with a long depress forcing a reboot. That function is fundamental. This still sounds to me like a possible hardware issue where a long press is not identified as such (intermittent connection in the button).
 
ericbergan
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 79
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by muzzy996 View Post
I would take it back to Verizon. IMO software shouldn't interfere with a long depress forcing a reboot. That function is fundamental. This still sounds to me like a possible hardware issue where a long press is not identified as such (intermittent connection in the button).
But a short press also doesn't work when the tablet is on, but does work when the tablet is off. But then it clears up, and always works properly for awhile.

Unfortunately, unlike phones, taking out the battery isn't an alternative option...
 
muzzy996
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 146
Posts: 650
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
I dunno what to tell you. Without root I don't see how any software you have installed on the tablet would have changed anything, and without the ability to get into download mode I'm not sure there's a way for you to do a factory reset that will fix the issue (if it is indeed a software one). I hope someone else chimes in that can help. My suggestion to take it in to Verizon still stands though.

Good luck!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...