FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

[Q] I can't get into bootloader/fastboot mode

1,502 posts
Thanks Meter: 157
 
By wintermute000, Senior Member on 26th April 2014, 01:47 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I can't get into the bootloader/fastboot mode, is there something wrong?
Note I am now on stock 4.4 (including stock recovery/kernel etc.) but previously i had custom recovery and same error.

- tried rebooting into bootloader from recovery when I had philz and/or TWRP - would just boot into the OS
- tried power + button up (i.e. reverse of booting into recovery) - same, boots into OS
- tried quick boot root app - same, boots into OS

WTF

Not hugely concerned since I could get into recovery lol but why is it I can't get into bootloader/fastboot mode? What if the OS is broken and I need to ADB something?

Note I rooted/TWRP/PHilzed and went custom for awhile, then I made my own zip using below thread and a full kdz and flashed back to stock including recovery/kernel/baseband (I wanted to go back to 100% stock).

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3#post52207783

Thanks
Last edited by wintermute000; 26th April 2014 at 01:50 PM.
 
 
26th April 2014, 03:51 PM |#2  
GenghisKhan67's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sherbrooke
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Isn't the bootloader locked on the G2? Coming from a Nexus phone, I was also looking for the option but read it wasn't currently possible to unlock it.
27th April 2014, 01:22 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 157
 
More
I know we're BL locked, I meant fastboot or download mode or whatever the mode is where you can use adb commands and/or fastboot flash recovery recovery.img if I never need to manually fix recovery for example.
27th April 2014, 04:36 PM |#4  
GenghisKhan67's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sherbrooke
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wintermute000

I know we're BL locked, I meant fastboot or download mode or whatever the mode is where you can use adb commands and/or fastboot flash recovery recovery.img if I never need to manually fix recovery for example.

You can use ADB by enabling USB debugging in developer options.

Download mode can be enabled by turning the phone off, pushing power+Volume Up and then plugging in your phone to your PC with a USB cable - I've used this twice already to recover from experimenting with recoveries and ROMs (by going back to stock following instructions here: http://www.droidviews.com/how-to-res...tock-firmware/)
27th April 2014, 07:33 PM |#5  
treebill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 568
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenghisKhan67

You can use ADB by enabling USB debugging in developer options.

Download mode can be enabled by turning the phone off, pushing power+Volume Up and then plugging in your phone to your PC with a USB cable - I've used this twice already to recover from experimenting with recoveries and ROMs (by going back to stock following instructions here: http://www.droidviews.com/how-to-res...tock-firmware/)

also i've found the phone won't boot in to recovery if it's on mains charge (via button combo not adb/in rom apps or APM)
28th April 2014, 12:10 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 157
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenghisKhan67

You can use ADB by enabling USB debugging in developer options.

Download mode can be enabled by turning the phone off, pushing power+Volume Up and then plugging in your phone to your PC with a USB cable - I've used this twice already to recover from experimenting with recoveries and ROMs (by going back to stock following instructions here: http://www.droidviews.com/how-to-res...tock-firmware/)

Thanks, the plugging in USB cable is probably the bit I'm missing!

I know I can use ADB with USB debugging, I'm asking the question if I need to recover from softbrick and can't get into OS
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes