Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] I can't get into bootloader/fastboot mode

OP wintermute000

26th April 2014, 02:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 148
 
1,468 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I can't get into the bootloader/fastboot mode, is there something wrong?
Note I am now on stock 4.4 (including stock recovery/kernel etc.) but previously i had custom recovery and same error.

- tried rebooting into bootloader from recovery when I had philz and/or TWRP - would just boot into the OS
- tried power + button up (i.e. reverse of booting into recovery) - same, boots into OS
- tried quick boot root app - same, boots into OS

WTF

Not hugely concerned since I could get into recovery lol but why is it I can't get into bootloader/fastboot mode? What if the OS is broken and I need to ADB something?

Note I rooted/TWRP/PHilzed and went custom for awhile, then I made my own zip using below thread and a full kdz and flashed back to stock including recovery/kernel/baseband (I wanted to go back to 100% stock).

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3#post52207783

Thanks
Last edited by wintermute000; 26th April 2014 at 02:50 PM.
26th April 2014, 04:51 PM   |  #2  
GenghisKhan67's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sherbrooke
Thanks Meter: 28
 
331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Isn't the bootloader locked on the G2? Coming from a Nexus phone, I was also looking for the option but read it wasn't currently possible to unlock it.
27th April 2014, 02:22 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 148
 
1,468 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I know we're BL locked, I meant fastboot or download mode or whatever the mode is where you can use adb commands and/or fastboot flash recovery recovery.img if I never need to manually fix recovery for example.
27th April 2014, 05:36 PM   |  #4  
GenghisKhan67's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sherbrooke
Thanks Meter: 28
 
331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wintermute000

I know we're BL locked, I meant fastboot or download mode or whatever the mode is where you can use adb commands and/or fastboot flash recovery recovery.img if I never need to manually fix recovery for example.

You can use ADB by enabling USB debugging in developer options.

Download mode can be enabled by turning the phone off, pushing power+Volume Up and then plugging in your phone to your PC with a USB cable - I've used this twice already to recover from experimenting with recoveries and ROMs (by going back to stock following instructions here: http://www.droidviews.com/how-to-res...tock-firmware/)
27th April 2014, 08:33 PM   |  #5  
treebill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 564
 
2,125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenghisKhan67

You can use ADB by enabling USB debugging in developer options.

Download mode can be enabled by turning the phone off, pushing power+Volume Up and then plugging in your phone to your PC with a USB cable - I've used this twice already to recover from experimenting with recoveries and ROMs (by going back to stock following instructions here: http://www.droidviews.com/how-to-res...tock-firmware/)

also i've found the phone won't boot in to recovery if it's on mains charge (via button combo not adb/in rom apps or APM)
28th April 2014, 01:10 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 148
 
1,468 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenghisKhan67

You can use ADB by enabling USB debugging in developer options.

Download mode can be enabled by turning the phone off, pushing power+Volume Up and then plugging in your phone to your PC with a USB cable - I've used this twice already to recover from experimenting with recoveries and ROMs (by going back to stock following instructions here: http://www.droidviews.com/how-to-res...tock-firmware/)

Thanks, the plugging in USB cable is probably the bit I'm missing!

I know I can use ADB with USB debugging, I'm asking the question if I need to recover from softbrick and can't get into OS
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes