Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,159 Members 46,918 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Radio , Modem and Baseband , differences?

Tip us?
 
Creative9170
Old
#1  
Creative9170's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 64
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tehran
Default Radio , Modem and Baseband , differences?

Sorry for my noob question!! Do "RADIO , MODEM and BASEBAND" have same meanings in LG Optimus G and other mobile phones or they are different things? Because in Optimus G we can erase radio and erase modem separately through fastboot!

Thanks...
 
Creative9170
Old
#2  
Creative9170's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 64
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tehran
Any help?!
 
kt-Froggy
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 591
Posts: 1,275
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: YVR
I have no idea about those two separate erase options you are talking about, but typically all three words are used interchangeably. Same thing, no difference.
Optimus G F180S, Sling v2.2.2 (KK 4.4.2)
Xperia X10 Mini, rooted stock 2.1
MeMO Pad HD 7 ME173X, rooted US stock 4.2.2

To whom it may concern: STOP nagging about pressing the freakin' Thanks button!!! It is rude, stupid, and annoying as hell. I am not an idiot who needs a huge in-my-face reminder to press it, and I will press it when I feel thankful, not because you asked for it!
The Following User Says Thank You to kt-Froggy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Creative9170
Old
#4  
Creative9170's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 64
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tehran
Ok good, thanks! I was confused about them. For each custom or stock ROM we have special baseband (radio, modem) ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kt-Froggy View Post
I have no idea about those two separate erase options you are talking about, but typically all three words are used interchangeably. Same thing, no difference.
 
kt-Froggy
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 591
Posts: 1,275
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: YVR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creative9170 View Post
For each custom or stock ROM we have special baseband (radio, modem) ?
No. Baseband/radio/modem is not specific to a particular ROM, but rather to a carrier or a country/area. Most ROMs don't include a baseband, so when you flash a ROM, your original baseband stays unchanged. Unless there is an indication that a particular baseband would be a better choice for that ROM, you should be good with what you've got.

You WILL reflash your baseband if you flash a stock KDZ, because KDZ image replaces everything, including bootloader, baseband, and recovery.
Optimus G F180S, Sling v2.2.2 (KK 4.4.2)
Xperia X10 Mini, rooted stock 2.1
MeMO Pad HD 7 ME173X, rooted US stock 4.2.2

To whom it may concern: STOP nagging about pressing the freakin' Thanks button!!! It is rude, stupid, and annoying as hell. I am not an idiot who needs a huge in-my-face reminder to press it, and I will press it when I feel thankful, not because you asked for it!
The Following User Says Thank You to kt-Froggy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Creative9170
Old
#6  
Creative9170's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 64
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tehran
Quote:
Originally Posted by kt-Froggy View Post
No. Baseband/radio/modem is not specific to a particular ROM, but rather to a carrier or a country/area. Most ROMs don't include a baseband, so when you flash a ROM, your original baseband stays unchanged. Unless there is an indication that a particular baseband would be a better choice for that ROM, you should be good with what you've got.

You WILL reflash your baseband if you flash a stock KDZ, because KDZ image replaces everything, including bootloader, baseband, and recovery.
Thanks friend final and last question
You mean if I flash an stock KDZ that is android 4.1.2 , then I use freegee to unlock bootoader and install a custom 4.4.2 ROM that is without baseband/radio , can this 4.4.2 ROM works with stock original baseband/radio that is unchanged?

Sent from my LG-E975 using Tapatalk
 
kt-Froggy
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 591
Posts: 1,275
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: YVR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creative9170 View Post
if I flash an stock KDZ that is android 4.1.2 , then I use freegee to unlock bootoader and install a custom 4.4.2 ROM that is without baseband/radio , can this 4.4.2 ROM works with stock original baseband/radio that is unchanged?
Yes, it should work. I personally couldn't make 4.4 work with my Korean baseband, but it's related to the F180 -> E975 "conversion", which is messy, and is known to cause some weird issues. For the actual E975 (or other non-Korean variants), it should be just fine.
Optimus G F180S, Sling v2.2.2 (KK 4.4.2)
Xperia X10 Mini, rooted stock 2.1
MeMO Pad HD 7 ME173X, rooted US stock 4.2.2

To whom it may concern: STOP nagging about pressing the freakin' Thanks button!!! It is rude, stupid, and annoying as hell. I am not an idiot who needs a huge in-my-face reminder to press it, and I will press it when I feel thankful, not because you asked for it!
The Following User Says Thank You to kt-Froggy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rntbarbosa
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kt-Froggy View Post
Yes, it should work. I personally couldn't make 4.4 work with my Korean baseband, but it's related to the F180 -> E975 "conversion", which is messy, and is known to cause some weird issues. For the actual E975 (or other non-Korean variants), it should be just fine.
thanks.

Brazilian variant (e977) loses LTE when using custom rom, Brazilian lte frequency is different from the European.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes