FORUMS

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

[Q] Ad Blocking

67 posts
Thanks Meter: 16
 
By fmcfad01, Member on 26th April 2014, 06:51 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
27th April 2014, 12:07 AM |#11  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
I think everyone is missing the point of this thread. The usual apps install a hosts, but the hosts files is not blocking ads on skyfall, and I assume all sense ROMs.

Any idea why?

Use adfree is not an answer.
 
 
27th April 2014, 01:06 AM |#12  
Senior Member
Flag Lima
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmcfad01

I think everyone is missing the point of this thread. The usual apps install a hosts, but the hosts files is not blocking ads on skyfall, and I assume all sense ROMs.

Any idea why?

Use adfree is not an answer.

That's really weird. I'm running skyfall 2.1 with adaway and my ads are blocked in chrome.
27th April 2014, 01:19 AM |#13  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adavit

That's really weird. I'm running skyfall 2.1 with adaway and my ads are blocked in chrome.

Maybe I need a wipe. Thanks for the info!
27th April 2014, 02:27 AM |#14  
Senior Member
Flag Lima
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmcfad01

Maybe I need a wipe. Thanks for the info!

No problem. When I installed I did do a clean wipe. If that doesn't help, might try asking the Dev of the rom about it.
27th April 2014, 02:51 AM |#15  
w4itg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
I like removing ads myself but apps like Weatherbug that show random ads at the bottom of the app screen although the ads don't show the spot is blank and eats up space that could show app stuff. In other words why bother.

But on another note I found adaway works best.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using xda app-developers app
27th April 2014, 04:44 AM |#16  
Tigerstown's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 2,172
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmcfad01

I think everyone is missing the point of this thread. The usual apps install a hosts, but the hosts files is not blocking ads on skyfall, and I assume all sense ROMs.

Any idea why?

Use adfree is not an answer.

Not all sense Roms cause my host file works great on every Rom I tried/use. No banner ads no ads anywhere ever.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to Tigerstown For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2014, 01:53 PM |#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Just trying to get this straight! (Since I am unable to post in the development forum I am doing it here). I am running Bone Stock ROM. He says the ROM has adblocking, which some seem to be blocked. Adaway (which i used on my Gal Nexus CM phone previously) is also installed on the ROM. How come when I use AdAway on the ROM and before i put the ROM on my phone when i got to add/update the host files it always fails? What is happening since everybody seems to be getting adblocking to work?
29th April 2014, 12:25 AM |#18  
Tigerstown's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Detroit
Thanks Meter: 2,172
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DPArnety

Just trying to get this straight! (Since I am unable to post in the development forum I am doing it here). I am running Bone Stock ROM. He says the ROM has adblocking, which some seem to be blocked. Adaway (which i used on my Gal Nexus CM phone previously) is also installed on the ROM. How come when I use AdAway on the ROM and before i put the ROM on my phone when i got to add/update the host files it always fails? What is happening since everybody seems to be getting adblocking to work?

Mine worked
I couldn't get it to work with pre installed ad away so I installed the apk I always use an I worked.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1398727497365.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	2714618  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tigerstown For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes