FORUMS

Google Teaches You to Use Wear Gestures

Now that the Watch Urbane is out with the latest firmware, we have new information regarding the … more

Samsung Galaxy Alpha (SM-G850) Gets Android 5.0

An Android 5.0 Lollipop update is finally available to download for the Samsung Galaxy … more

Do You Use 4:3 or 16:9 in the Camera App?

Every person has their own method of taking the best photos on their devices, but which aspect … more

LG G4 XDA Forum Opened

LG’s latest & greatest is just a few hours away from launching, and with so many power users that are … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

802.11ac tests on Gigabit

29th April 2014, 04:17 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
I have Google Fiber Gigabit. The Wifi router doesn't support 802.11ac so I attached one that does and so far am able to get over 300Mbps with GS5 802.11ac. Might be able to tune router for even higher. But gives an idea GS5 can do at least this.

More on Google Fiber here...
http://www.dslreports.com/comment/3910/90792

Last edited by xenokc; 1st May 2014 at 08:59 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to xenokc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
xtechx
29th April 2014, 05:33 PM |#2  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenokc

I have Google Fiber Gigabit. They're Wifi router doesn't support 802.11ac so I attached one that does and so far am able to get over 300Mbps with GS5 802.11ac. Might be able to tune router for even higher. But gives an idea GS5 can do at least this.

Thanks for sharing! What was your negotiation rate at?

I was doing some iperf testing in my lab between 2 different 2x2 AC clients (Zenbook Prime w/ Asus AC-56 and Samsung Galaxy S5), but it appears that I found a driver level bug with the AP...so I'm gathering information then will be working on fixing it, before I test again.

My WAN up here in Canada is horrible, hence why I was testing LAN performance...
29th April 2014, 06:35 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtechx

Thanks for sharing! What was your negotiation rate at?

I was doing some iperf testing in my lab between 2 different 2x2 AC clients (Zenbook Prime w/ Asus AC-56 and Samsung Galaxy S5), but it appears that I found a driver level bug with the AP...so I'm gathering information then will be working on fixing it, before I test again.

My WAN up here in Canada is horrible, hence why I was testing LAN performance...

The link speed says 866Mbps. I'm using an Asus ac68u router at 5Ghz. I think it could go higher but it seems the speedtest sites are using a smaller sample file when it sees mobile devices so can't get up to full speed. Hardwired laptops can consistently get over 800M.
The Following User Says Thank You to xenokc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2014, 06:51 PM |#4  
try with testmy.net and select 200MB file.
Last edited by koolboyztn; 29th April 2014 at 07:00 PM.
xtechx
29th April 2014, 07:11 PM |#5  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xenokc

The link speed says 866Mbps. I'm using an Asus ac68u router at 5Ghz. I think it could go higher but it seems the speedtest sites are using a smaller sample file when it sees mobile devices so can't get up to full speed. Hardwired laptops can consistently get over 800M.

Thanks.

I know with some stations it helps to disable beamforming. May be worth trying with it disabled, to see if that helps boost performance. IIRC it's just chip based beamforming on ac68u, not antenna array + chipset beamforming, but I could be mistaken, so there isn't as much of a benefit with it enabled anyway..
29th April 2014, 07:13 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by koolboyztn

try with testmy.net and select 200MB file.

It only shows 86Mbps on Dolphin and it got stuck on Chrome Beta. Tried multi-thread and was actually slower. Could be limit of the browser.
29th April 2014, 07:25 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtechx

Thanks.

I know with some stations it helps to disable beamforming. May be worth trying with it disabled, to see if that helps boost performance. IIRC it's just chip based beamforming on ac68u, not antenna array + chipset beamforming, but I could be mistaken, so there isn't as much of a benefit with it enabled anyway..

Here are the advanced options on my router. Any suggestions on what else to tinker with?

Frequency 5Ghz
Enable Radio Yes
Enable wireless scheduler No
Set AP Isolated No
Roaming assistant disabled
Enable IGMP Snooping disabled
Multicast Rate(Mbps) auto
Preamble Type long
AMPDU RTS enable
RTS Threshold 2347
DTIM Interval 3
Beacon Interval 100
Enable TX Bursting enabled
Enable WMM APSD enabled
Optimize AMPDU aggregation disabled
Optimize ack suppression disabled
802.11ac Beamforming disabled (tried this, no difference)
Universal Beamforming disabled (tried this, no difference)
Tx power adjustment 150mW (also tried up to 200, the max)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes