5,815,022 Members 39,621 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Install CWM on 4.2.2(stock) (bootloader unlocked)

Tip us?
 
massivekind
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2012
Cool [Q] Install CWM on 4.2.2(stock) (bootloader unlocked)

Hi to all ,

First thing first, Iím still a noob at this.
And I couldn't find any answer, thatís the reason Iím asking it here

Iíve got a question about my phone. I unlocked my phone before the update to 4.2.2 but now im bored with the stock rom and was planning to put a custom rom on it. When the update came out I followed a tut about how to update to 4.2.2, so I have atm no CWM installed.

In HBOOT it says "UNLOCKED" sow my bootloader is unlocked. But I couldn't find on the internet a clear tut how to install CWM :S. Is it possible with my current stock version?

Sorry for the noob questions (still learning).

Kind regards

Massivekind
 
ckpv5
Old
#2  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,873
Posts: 6,891
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur

 
DONATE TO ME
As long as the bootloader is unlocked, you can install any custom recovery

Just boot to fastboot mode
then fastboot flash the recovery image

command :
fastboot flash recovery nameOrecovery.img
fastboot erase cache

then you can either reboot or select recovery to make your nandroid backup
 
massivekind
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2012
Sow Namereovery.img is CWM.img? Or am I wrong?

But thanks for your info
 
ckpv5
Old
#4  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,873
Posts: 6,891
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes
It can be recovery.img, CWM.img, TWRP.img and WhatSoEverName.img
 
massivekind
Old
(Last edited by massivekind; 29th April 2014 at 07:51 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2012
aaaa yes I just saw it on a page

One small (last) qeustion.

If I install a recovery, will i lose al the data of the app's?
If yes, whats the best option for backing up these data (becaus I can't install supsersu). Is it possible to get temp root( or something)?
 
ckpv5
Old
#6  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,873
Posts: 6,891
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur

 
DONATE TO ME
You won't lose data when installing recovery.
After recovery is installed, make a nandroid backup before you start anything else.

Bed time ... Have fun
 
massivekind
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Aug 2012
Ty for your help

Luckely for me im a guy who makes of annything a backup

I've got all the data i wanted, so ones again thanks for your help

Sleep well

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes