Post Reply

[Q] Wifi on 5ghz issues ?

28th April 2014, 05:54 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hello.

Noticed this morning when watching movie clips off facebook that the clips could just shut down randomly. WTH i thought and tried and tried and sometimes it played the clip longer and sometimes just shut them down.

Switched to 2.4ghz wifi instead and that seemed to work alot better. Even tried the same clips over 3g and that seemed to work aswell hence i belive it is some problem when using the 5ghz.

Signal strength is showing very good on both bands but still problem. Anyone else been having theese problems ?

Im running the .757 NCB firmware with the stock kernel from that firmware and rooted. Bootloader relocked with flashtool. Router im using is the Asus RT-N66U. Never had problems like this with the other phones.

EDIT: Done more testing when at work on pure 3g connection and it opens clips posted on facebook and plays for a little while and then closes them down back to facebook. So it doesent seem to be problems with wifi/3g.

What could cause this ? Dunno what player the facebook apps uses when opening videos.
Last edited by Jonas740; 28th April 2014 at 06:01 AM. Reason: added info
28th April 2014, 11:23 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 1
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
I also have a problem with wifi... When I connect to 1 particular modem (sadly my houses) it messes up the modem. The modem behaves like hectic and kicks out all devices, or looses connection. Checked with the provider and they sent 3 technicians. They did not do anything. Please help, as it only happens with this device and it feels like my ZTE modem is allergic to it...

Sorry if it's off topic, but I thought maybe there are any similarities between cases.
29th April 2014, 05:25 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
334 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
I am also having a problem with 5ghz. My wifi keep disconnecting and switching between 5ghz and 2.4 ghz
even when I am in better coverage of 5ghz. Also usually net don't work properly on 5ghz.
29th April 2014, 05:56 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Well I think my problem is gone, or hoping anyway I repaired the phone with Sony update. Unrooted now but it will remain like that until a stable and working software are available.

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app
29th April 2014, 09:51 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
I experienced issues with the 5ghz and 2.4ghz, but nothing like what you guys have had. Are you using the same SSID for both 5ghz and 2.4ghz? if so try changing them slightly, sorted out my problems, and it also fixed problems that some of my customers were experiencing too.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z1 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank