Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

[Q] HTC One [M7] Boot loop...

OP Ixolus

29th April 2014, 02:26 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hello,

I'm having the infamous Boot Loop issue but with an interesting twist...

I have gotten to the point with command prompt where it is < waiting for device > (I'm trying to use ADB)

And my device is in "FASTBOOT USB" mode

The only issue that is between me and sweet victory is my computer isn't recognizing my device.

When I plug my device into my computer a popup saying that "the connected USB device is not recognized" shows, I know that it isn't the USB or the cord because I was just using this setup about an hour ago to transfer the Rom (Android Revolution HD) to my device.

Any Ideas on a fix for this issue? Hope everything made sense, I tried to add pictures to help explain but the forum wouldn't allow me to.

[Edit]
I am willing to do a hard reset if need be, but I can't get to the options to do so because that is in recovery which I can't access...
Last edited by Ixolus; 29th April 2014 at 02:35 AM. Reason: Additions
29th April 2014, 08:54 AM   |  #2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,196
 
3,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ixolus

I have gotten to the point with command prompt where it is < waiting for device > (I'm trying to use ADB)

And my device is in "FASTBOOT USB" mode

ADB commands only works from the OS or from custom recovery. In bootloader mode you can only use fastboot commands.

---------- Post added at 03:50 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:48 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ixolus

Hello,

I'm having the infamous Boot Loop issue but with an interesting twist...

What recovery did you used to flash the rom? arhd require twrp 2.6.3.3 and up

---------- Post added at 03:52 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:50 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ixolus

Hello,

The only issue that is between me and sweet victory is my computer isn't recognizing my device.

When I plug my device into my computer a popup saying that "the connected USB device is not recognized" shows, I know that it isn't the USB or the cord because I was just using this setup about an hour ago to transfer the Rom (Android Revolution HD) to my device.

Looks like you have drivers issues. If you go in windows device manager, when you connect the phone it should says ''My HTC''. If not you'll need to re-install the drivers.

Quote:

originally from @nkk71: [GUIDE] [02-MAR-2014] nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock

2) Q: I'm using Windows 7 what should I worry about

A: when you issue the command "fastboot boot CWM.img" (now only in CWM/TWRP restore method) there's a high chance drivers won't correctly install


follow the below instructions to fix

Open "Device Manager" -> select the unknown "One" -> right-click -> "Update Driver Software ..." -> "Browse my computer" -> "Let me pick" -> "Android USB Devices" -> select "My HTC ..." -> install that
just in case, HTC Drivers can be found here: [Drivers] HTC Drivers for Windows - Several Versions (credits to @mdmower)
though you should already have them since you have been using your phone anyways
for those who like a visual guide:

okay so I did a fastboot boot command, and as you can see it didnt install correct driver



Open "Device Manager"



there's the culprit



right click and Update Driver Software



select Browse my computer for driver software



select Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer



select Android USB Devices



select My HTC ... (if you have more than one version, choose the latest)



warning, select Yes



successful installation



now it looks better


and can confirm:
Code:
C:\ADB3>adb devices
List of devices attached
HTxxxxxxxxxx    recovery
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------





---------- Post added at 03:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:52 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ixolus

Any Ideas on a fix for this issue?

  1. fix drivers
  2. flash twrp 2.6.3.3
  3. fastboot erase cache
  4. boot recovery
  5. adb push or sideload the rom
  6. flash the rom again
Last edited by alray; 29th April 2014 at 08:57 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
@alray
Quote:

ADB commands only works from the OS or from custom recovery. In bootloader mode you can only use fastboot commands.[COLOR="Silver"]

So what commands would I use to install the new recovery?

Quote:

What recovery did you used to flash the rom? arhd require twrp 2.6.3.3 and up

I don't know and I dont know how to find out, but I did have an olderversion of ArHD

Quote:

Looks like you have drivers issues. If you go in windows device manager, when you connect the phone it should says ''My HTC''. If not you'll need to re-install the drivers.

Ive tried a couple times now to re-install my drivers, In Device manager the phone is coming up as "Unknown USB Device (Device Failed Enumeration) I used the highest version with the link you provided and it didn't seem to work... (I have windows 8.1)

Also, sorry for the late reply, had had class.
Last edited by Ixolus; 29th April 2014 at 08:49 PM.
29th April 2014, 09:12 PM   |  #4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,196
 
3,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ixolus

So what commands would I use to install the new recovery?

as I said, from bootloader use fastboot commands not adb
Code:
fastboot flash recovery name_of_recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ixolus

Ive tried a couple times now to re-install my drivers, In Device manager the phone is coming up as "Unknown USB Device (Device Failed Enumeration) I used the highest version with the link you provided and it didn't seem to work... (I have windows 8.1)
.

If your device is on hboot 1.44, it will not communicate with windows 8.1 in bootloader mode.

reboot in bootloader mode and confirm what is your hboot version. If you are on 1.44 you'll have to either use a windows 7 pc or use a live linux cd.
Last edited by alray; 29th April 2014 at 09:21 PM.
29th April 2014, 09:23 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Thumbs up
I had the same problem but I managed, but no way to put another rom, I tried to put the RUU, anyway problem solved thank you.
the solution was to use a PC with Windows 7 and not Windows 8.1, launched from my directory FlashBoot "FlashBoot flash recovery" nom_du_clockwork.img "
then "fastboot erase cache" then "fastboot reboot-bootloader"
recovery finally worked and I restore my backup!

< French >
j'ai eu le même problème mais j'ai réussis, mais pas moyen de mettre une autre rom, je vais essayé de remettre la RUU, en tout cas problème réglé merci.
la solution a été d'utiliser un pc avec Windows 7 et non Windows 8.1, de lancer depuis mon répertoire flashboot "flashboot flash recovery "nom_du_clockwork.img"
ensuite "fastboot erase cache" puis "fastboot reboot-bootloader"
enfin le recovery a marché et j'ai restore ma sauvegarde !
29th April 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #6  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,196
 
3,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blipn

I had the same problem but I managed, but no way to put another rom, I tried to put the RUU, anyway problem solved thank you.
the solution was to use a PC with Windows 7 and not Windows 8.1, launched from my directory FlashBoot "FlashBoot flash recovery" nom_du_clockwork.img "
then "fastboot erase cache" then "fastboot reboot-bootloader"
recovery finally worked and I restore my backup!

< French >
j'ai eu le même problème mais j'ai réussis, mais pas moyen de mettre une autre rom, je vais essayé de remettre la RUU, en tout cas problème réglé merci.
la solution a été d'utiliser un pc avec Windows 7 et non Windows 8.1, de lancer depuis mon répertoire flashboot "flashboot flash recovery "nom_du_clockwork.img"
ensuite "fastboot erase cache" puis "fastboot reboot-bootloader"
enfin le recovery a marché et j'ai restore ma sauvegarde !

Yes its better and simpler to use a windows 7 pc. The OP want to flash arhd rom so he will need to flash twrp recovery not cwm.
Btw ''flashboot flash recovery'' or ''flashboot directory'' is incorrect. Its fastboot not flashboot

< French >
Oui c'est vrai que c'est mieuxe et moins compliqué d'utiliser windows 7. L'OP veut installer ARHD et CWM ne fonctionne pas avec les dernières rom ARHD, seulement TWRP 2.6.3.3 et plus récent. En passant, ''flashboot'' ca n'existe pas c'est ''fastboot'' attention de ne pas induire en erreur les autres avec des mauvaise commandes
Last edited by alray; 29th April 2014 at 09:53 PM.
30th April 2014, 12:33 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Thumbs up
Thanks guys! wedows 7 fixed it! Means a ton that yall took time out of your day to help out the stupid!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes