FTC Says Unlimited Data with Throttling Is Not Unlimited

Unlimited data with throttling will no longer count as unlimited. The Federal Trade … more

Scan With Your Camera Using SimplyScan

If you often need to scan documents using your phone’s camera, make sure to check out … more

Hike Messenger Introduces Free VoIP Service

Hike is one of the few instant messengers that broke free from the pack andacquired a massiveuser … more

One Quarter of All Android Users Have Dual-SIM phones

Ever since the dual-SIM phone wasannounced, such devices became quite popular in many … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to Unroot my Verizon G2?

OP HTWingNut

25th April 2014, 11:32 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
I recently rooted my Verizon G2 with ioroot, Android version is currently 4.2.2. Now Verizon keeps pushing to update to 4.4.2, and reminds me every 12 hours to do so. The update fails, and I'm assuming because the phone is rooted. So I guess a couple questions:

(1) Is there a way to prevent it from asking for an update, and I'll just stick with 4.2.2?
(2) How do I "unroot" my phone? Is there a simple way to reverse the process, and also how do I root it when I get to 4.4.2?

Thanks!

EDIT: I saw this guide, just the title didn't sound like it was related to root, but at least I can try this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2729156

But I'd still like to see if there's a way to stay with 4.2.2 instead, do I really need 4.4.2?
Last edited by HTWingNut; 25th April 2014 at 11:43 AM.
25th April 2014, 02:04 PM   |  #2  
DroidOnRoids's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Baltimore, MD
Thanks Meter: 354
 
1,048 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTWingNut

I recently rooted my Verizon G2 with ioroot, Android version is currently 4.2.2. Now Verizon keeps pushing to update to 4.4.2, and reminds me every 12 hours to do so. The update fails, and I'm assuming because the phone is rooted. So I guess a couple questions:

(1) Is there a way to prevent it from asking for an update, and I'll just stick with 4.2.2?
(2) How do I "unroot" my phone? Is there a simple way to reverse the process, and also how do I root it when I get to 4.4.2?

Thanks!

EDIT: I saw this guide, just the title didn't sound like it was related to root, but at least I can try this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2729156

But I'd still like to see if there's a way to stay with 4.2.2 instead, do I really need 4.4.2?

You can use TitaniumBackup and freeze the OTA updater apk. I don't know the exact apk name so hopefully someone can chime in. Also you can do a full unroot by going into the SuperUser app and clicking on Full Unroot. It will do it's thing and you will reboot.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that root does NOT kill the OTA. You most likely have a custom recovery on your phone. That's why it fails. So all you have to do is just freeze the annoying updater apk and you should be good to go.
Last edited by DroidOnRoids; 25th April 2014 at 02:08 PM.
25th April 2014, 08:39 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Thanks! I'll see if I can find the ota updater apk and freeze it.

Beamed from my G2 Tricorder
25th April 2014, 11:03 PM   |  #4  
JRJ442's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Salisbury, Md
Thanks Meter: 1,392
 
2,283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
You could always just flash one of the 4.4.2 stock LG ROMs like Malladus or xdabbebs. If you have a custom recovery that is.
25th April 2014, 11:04 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTWingNut

Thanks! I'll see if I can find the ota updater apk and freeze it.

Beamed from my G2 Tricorder

Please let us know if you find it...I am in the same boat and I cannot find what to freeze either.
25th April 2014, 11:14 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 423
 
1,201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
System updates MUC 6.4.1.5_E02

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 04:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:10 PM ----------

At least in xdabbeb's ROM

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
30th April 2014, 03:32 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Ok, I think I figured it out. MUC 6.4.1.5_E02 was disabled by default when I upgraded to Titanium Backup Pro.
Last edited by HTWingNut; 30th April 2014 at 03:42 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes