FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

[Q] How to Unroot my Verizon G2?

6 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By HTWingNut, Junior Member on 25th April 2014, 10:32 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I recently rooted my Verizon G2 with ioroot, Android version is currently 4.2.2. Now Verizon keeps pushing to update to 4.4.2, and reminds me every 12 hours to do so. The update fails, and I'm assuming because the phone is rooted. So I guess a couple questions:

(1) Is there a way to prevent it from asking for an update, and I'll just stick with 4.2.2?
(2) How do I "unroot" my phone? Is there a simple way to reverse the process, and also how do I root it when I get to 4.4.2?

Thanks!

EDIT: I saw this guide, just the title didn't sound like it was related to root, but at least I can try this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2729156

But I'd still like to see if there's a way to stay with 4.2.2 instead, do I really need 4.4.2?
Last edited by HTWingNut; 25th April 2014 at 10:43 AM.
 
 
25th April 2014, 01:04 PM |#2  
DroidOnRoids's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Baltimore, MD
Thanks Meter: 390
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTWingNut

I recently rooted my Verizon G2 with ioroot, Android version is currently 4.2.2. Now Verizon keeps pushing to update to 4.4.2, and reminds me every 12 hours to do so. The update fails, and I'm assuming because the phone is rooted. So I guess a couple questions:

(1) Is there a way to prevent it from asking for an update, and I'll just stick with 4.2.2?
(2) How do I "unroot" my phone? Is there a simple way to reverse the process, and also how do I root it when I get to 4.4.2?

Thanks!

EDIT: I saw this guide, just the title didn't sound like it was related to root, but at least I can try this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2729156

But I'd still like to see if there's a way to stay with 4.2.2 instead, do I really need 4.4.2?

You can use TitaniumBackup and freeze the OTA updater apk. I don't know the exact apk name so hopefully someone can chime in. Also you can do a full unroot by going into the SuperUser app and clicking on Full Unroot. It will do it's thing and you will reboot.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that root does NOT kill the OTA. You most likely have a custom recovery on your phone. That's why it fails. So all you have to do is just freeze the annoying updater apk and you should be good to go.
Last edited by DroidOnRoids; 25th April 2014 at 01:08 PM.
25th April 2014, 07:39 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks! I'll see if I can find the ota updater apk and freeze it.

Beamed from my G2 Tricorder
25th April 2014, 10:03 PM |#4  
JRJ442's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Salisbury, Md
Thanks Meter: 1,607
 
More
You could always just flash one of the 4.4.2 stock LG ROMs like Malladus or xdabbebs. If you have a custom recovery that is.
25th April 2014, 10:04 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTWingNut

Thanks! I'll see if I can find the ota updater apk and freeze it.

Beamed from my G2 Tricorder

Please let us know if you find it...I am in the same boat and I cannot find what to freeze either.
25th April 2014, 10:14 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 423
 
More
System updates MUC 6.4.1.5_E02

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 04:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:10 PM ----------

At least in xdabbeb's ROM

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
30th April 2014, 02:32 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ok, I think I figured it out. MUC 6.4.1.5_E02 was disabled by default when I upgraded to Titanium Backup Pro.
Last edited by HTWingNut; 30th April 2014 at 02:42 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes