Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,054 Members 40,773 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] APN Entry?

Tip us?
 
Cpudan80
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 102
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default [Q] APN Entry?

Hey guys,

Just ordered a Galaxy S5 from Verizon. I travel internationally a lot so I wanted to double check to make sure you can enter APNs into the device as it comes out of the box (e.g., fully stock). Can someone double check?

Obviously I can root the phone if I have to - but I'd rather not.

Thoughts?

-- Dan
 
drworsley
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default apn entry

Yes, you can create new apns out of the box.
The Following User Says Thank You to drworsley For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
spectrum201
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Sep 2007
Thumbs up Foreign SIM success

I not only added an APN, I actually successfully used a foreign SIM for both voice and data in my stock Verizon S5.
 
mmartenn
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jun 2011
The + on my APNs screen is disabled so I can't add a new one. Anyone ideas?
 
motumbo
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 251
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmartenn View Post
The + on my APNs screen is disabled so I can't add a new one. Anyone ideas?
Add apn feature will only be available if you're using a non Verizon sim card.

Sent from my C811 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
mmartenn
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 60
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by motumbo View Post
Add apn feature will only be available if you're using a non Verizon sim card.

Sent from my C811 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
That blows. Can't add a proxy.
 
Guadalupeohara
Old
#7  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 238
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: D.K
Thumbs up APN

Quote:
Originally Posted by drworsley View Post
Yes, you can create new apns out of the box.
How can i create new APN ? Please post here step by step please..
 
WrathfulWine858@yahoo.com
Old
#8  
WrathfulWine858@yahoo.com's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guadalupeohara View Post
How can i create new APN ? Please post here step by step please..
1. Press the settings icon.
• Press the Connections tab.
• Press More networks.
• Press Mobile networks.
• Press Access Point Names.

2. Create new data connection
•Press the Menu key.
• Press New APN.

3. Enter Data Connection name
4. Enter APN
5. Enter country code
6. Enter network code
7. Select authentication type
8. Select APN type
9. Select data bearer
10. Save and activate data connection
•Press the Menu key.
• Press Save.
• Press the field next to the data connection to fill in the field.
 
Guadalupeohara
Old
#9  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 238
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: D.K
Quote:
Originally Posted by WrathfulWine858@yahoo.com View Post
1. Press the settings icon.
• Press the Connections tab.
• Press More networks.
• Press Mobile networks.
• Press Access Point Names.

2. Create new data connection
•Press the Menu key.
• Press New APN.

3. Enter Data Connection name
4. Enter APN
5. Enter country code
6. Enter network code
7. Select authentication type
8. Select APN type
9. Select data bearer
10. Save and activate data connection
•Press the Menu key.
• Press Save.
• Press the field next to the data connection to fill in the field.
Thanks for this valuable information. i will try it later..

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more

But First, Let Me Take a #Selfie

“Today while browsing XDA,I’m going tocheck to seeif my favorite ROM has been updated–but … more