FORUMS

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more

Which Features from Apple Watch Do You Think Android Wear Will Copy?

The Apple Watch and Android Wear are both growing platforms. Now … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 22)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] APN Entry?

13th April 2014, 09:54 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Hey guys,

Just ordered a Galaxy S5 from Verizon. I travel internationally a lot so I wanted to double check to make sure you can enter APNs into the device as it comes out of the box (e.g., fully stock). Can someone double check?

Obviously I can root the phone if I have to - but I'd rather not.

Thoughts?

-- Dan
 
 
14th April 2014, 12:36 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
apn entry
Yes, you can create new apns out of the box.
The Following User Says Thank You to drworsley For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2014, 04:16 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up Foreign SIM success
I not only added an APN, I actually successfully used a foreign SIM for both voice and data in my stock Verizon S5.
27th April 2014, 09:26 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
The + on my APNs screen is disabled so I can't add a new one. Anyone ideas?
28th April 2014, 12:02 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmartenn

The + on my APNs screen is disabled so I can't add a new one. Anyone ideas?

Add apn feature will only be available if you're using a non Verizon sim card.

Sent from my C811 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to motumbo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th April 2014, 12:07 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by motumbo

Add apn feature will only be available if you're using a non Verizon sim card.

Sent from my C811 4G using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

That blows. Can't add a proxy.
29th April 2014, 05:39 AM |#7  
Account currently disabled
D.K
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Thumbs up APN
Quote:
Originally Posted by drworsley

Yes, you can create new apns out of the box.

How can i create new APN ? Please post here step by step please..
29th April 2014, 08:27 PM |#8  
WrathfulWine858@yahoo.com's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guadalupeohara

How can i create new APN ? Please post here step by step please..

1. Press the settings icon.
• Press the Connections tab.
• Press More networks.
• Press Mobile networks.
• Press Access Point Names.

2. Create new data connection
•Press the Menu key.
• Press New APN.

3. Enter Data Connection name
4. Enter APN
5. Enter country code
6. Enter network code
7. Select authentication type
8. Select APN type
9. Select data bearer
10. Save and activate data connection
•Press the Menu key.
• Press Save.
• Press the field next to the data connection to fill in the field.
30th April 2014, 03:09 AM |#9  
Account currently disabled
D.K
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WrathfulWine858@yahoo.com

1. Press the settings icon.
• Press the Connections tab.
• Press More networks.
• Press Mobile networks.
• Press Access Point Names.

2. Create new data connection
•Press the Menu key.
• Press New APN.

3. Enter Data Connection name
4. Enter APN
5. Enter country code
6. Enter network code
7. Select authentication type
8. Select APN type
9. Select data bearer
10. Save and activate data connection
•Press the Menu key.
• Press Save.
• Press the field next to the data connection to fill in the field.

Thanks for this valuable information. i will try it later..
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank