Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,247 Members 46,050 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Rooting LG G2

Tip us?
 
savagebeast02
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default [Q] Rooting LG G2

Ive been looking everywhere to find out if someone has answers, im trying too root my lg g2. I just installed the OTA 4.4.2 software version (VS98024a). It gets all the way too the part where i can apply update through the abd, but when i click that, i hear the windows noise telling me my device disconnected. I still tried to install it, but it would not send the information over to my phone. I used the ioroot25, but it still doesn't work. Can anyone help me out?
 
Vaibhav Chauhan
Old
#2  
Vaibhav Chauhan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 757
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dahod, Gujarat
Quote:
Originally Posted by savagebeast02 View Post
Ive been looking everywhere to find out if someone has answers, im trying too root my lg g2. I just installed the OTA 4.4.2 software version (VS98024a). It gets all the way too the part where i can apply update through the abd, but when i click that, i hear the windows noise telling me my device disconnected. I still tried to install it, but it would not send the information over to my phone. I used the ioroot25, but it still doesn't work. Can anyone help me out?
i think this can help you
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2633150
PHONE;- Samsung galaxy s duos gt-s7562
OS:- Android ICS 4.0.4
BASEBAND VERSION:- S7562DDBMJ1
BUILD NO:- IMM76I.S7562XXBMJ1

Guides by me

...PRESS THANKS IF I HELP YOU...
.
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 516
Posts: 2,695
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaibhav Chauhan View Post
Caution: That is a guide for the At&t version of the G2. OP is trying to install VZW G2 software, so hoping he is using the VZW version of it.


So, you HAVE been able to update, or you have not? How are you trying to update if it is not working for you? You tried to use ioroot25 on 4.2.2 or 4.4.2? What was the error or where did it stop before failing? Have the correct drivers on the PC?

In general, the more details we have, the easier to help. Just saying "It didn't work" is not helpful for troubleshooting.
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s
Now offering unlocking services - including many Sprint phone unlocks! PM for details!

HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
The Following User Says Thank You to es0tericcha0s For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
savagebeast02
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
I have been able too update my phone with the OTA. So my phone is running the 4.4.2. I used ioroot 25, the rooting fails when the root.bat is supposed too send the files too my computer. When I hit the apply through adb, that's when the computer makes the sound that my phone was disconnected. My computer will send it, but phone doesn't receive it for some odd reason. I hope I gave enough information, my bad about last time.

Sent from my VS980 4G using xda app-developers app
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 516
Posts: 2,695
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
You sure you have the drivers for adb mode installed properly? Do you have USB Debugging enabled? If you open CMD prompt and change directories to the ioroot25 folder that has the adb program in it and run:

adb devices

does anything returns?
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s
Now offering unlocking services - including many Sprint phone unlocks! PM for details!

HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)
 
savagebeast02
Old
(Last edited by savagebeast02; 29th April 2014 at 09:18 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Yes, I've followed all the directions and watched videos, and when i open cmd prompt, it does state that a device is connected. I just don't understand what I'm doing wrong. Like I said I've followed all directions exactly how they state, downloaded all the drivers.

Sent from my VS980 4G using xda app-developers app
 
es0tericcha0s
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 516
Posts: 2,695
Join Date: May 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Have you made sure that when accepting the RSA Key for adb / USB debugging that you selected always? If so, then you should try the manual method via adb as described farther down the OP here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...34539103321731
Need some help, advice, something fixed? Hit me up on Hangouts @ es0tericcha0s
Now offering unlocking services - including many Sprint phone unlocks! PM for details!

HTC Droid Eris / Motorola Droid / Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate / Motorola Droid X / LG G2x / HTC Evo 3D (x2) / Samsung Epic 4G Touch (Sprint S2) / HTC Amaze / Samsung Galaxy S3 (International) / Samsung Galaxy Note 2 / Nexus 4 / HTC One / Samsung Galaxy S4 / Sony Xperia ZL / Nexus 5 / OnePlus One (64 GB)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more

Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more

Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more