Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,856 Members 46,970 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can I use my Sprint HTC One M8 on international GSM networks?

Tip us?
 
realchinky
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 123
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Parker
Default Can I use my Sprint HTC One M8 on international GSM networks?

We all know that the HTC One M8 has a sim card tray. And I plan on going to the Philippines next month and use Smart's network in the Philippines for a month. Is it possible with the Sprint Version? I know its possible with the Verizon M8.
Phones: HTC One M8 (Sprint). [RETIRED]HTC Evo 4G LTE, Samsung Galaxy S4
Rooted HTC EVO 4G LTE Rockin' Sense 5.5 Port V4
 
hazmad
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 25
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by realchinky View Post
We all know that the HTC One M8 has a sim card tray. And I plan on going to the Philippines next month and use Smart's network in the Philippines for a month. Is it possible with the Sprint Version? I know its possible with the Verizon M8.
Yes, it has the correct frequency to run voice/data in Philippines. It needs Nano-Sim. You'll need to sim unlock your phone. Do your research on this.

I haven't tested method:
http://androidnews.co.in/2014/04/10/...c-one-m8-free/
 
mancaalberto
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2013
As we all know sprint will unlock it after staying with them for 90 days, but more often than not an alternative method is needed. There is a working method for the M7 that i have tried. I would be interested if anyone had any luck in unlocking the sprint M8.
 
andrewnelson
Old
#4  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 384
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dhaka
Yes, it has the correct frequency to run voice/data in Bangladesh. It needs Nano-Sim. You'll need to unlock your phone.
 
subhumanderelict
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 259
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, Il
Quote:
Originally Posted by realchinky View Post
We all know that the HTC One M8 has a sim card tray. And I plan on going to the Philippines next month and use Smart's network in the Philippines for a month. Is it possible with the Sprint Version? I know its possible with the Verizon M8.
Once you SIM-unlock, you should be able to get some HSPA data, but since the carriers there only offer LTE on 1800 and 2100 MHz, you won't get 4G.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
 
mancaalberto
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by subhumanderelict View Post
Once you SIM-unlock, you should be able to get some HSPA data, but since the carriers there only offer LTE on 1800 and 2100 MHz, you won't get 4G.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
I would be fine living without the 4G, but first we need to somehow sim-unlock the device. Is anyone working on this yet?
 
subhumanderelict
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 259
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, Il
Quote:
Originally Posted by mancaalberto View Post
I would be fine living without the 4G, but first we need to somehow sim-unlock the device. Is anyone working on this yet?
Check this thread out:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2718150

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more