Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,418 Members 45,882 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Restore Menu Button functionality (S4 style)

Tip us?
 
92drls
Old
#11  
92drls's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 601
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Behind you
Quote:
Originally Posted by losplatanos View Post
gravity box has work fine for me since day one with alliance rom
Yes but it been known to break S-Health, among other things..
Phone: T-Mo Galaxy S5
Modem UVU1ANE6
ROM: Omega V. 8
Kernel Omega stock
Recovery: Philz Touch

How's my driving? Hitting thanks means a lot!

Nokia 8801, G1, Mytouch 3g, HD2, Nexus One, G2, Mytouch 4g, G2X, Sensation, Galaxy S3, S4, S5...
 
moose1313
Old
#12  
moose1313's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 228
Posts: 556
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sling View Post
Here you go.

Always safe to make backup before flashing anything

Mod - https://www.dropbox.com/s/w8xe7vm0l8...20style%29.zip

Stock - https://www.dropbox.com/s/6vna358rsw...28Stock%29.zip

---------- Post added 29th April 2014 at 12:27 AM ---------- Previous post was 28th April 2014 at 11:28 PM ----------

hmm interesting , by the looks APP_SWITCH needs to be placed around here

# samsung dummy key (common)
key 249 DUMMY_HOME1
key 250 DUMMY_HOME2
key 251 DUMMY_MENU
key 252 DUMMY_HOME
key 253 DUMMY_BACK

With MENU edit added hold key and it brings up Home screen edit , Push menu key again while thats open and App switch displays.
Im thinking line 252 needs edit I will play tomorrow
I have edited this line and actually disabled all keys, even power. Currently in using lmt app for recent apps and reverted the menu button back to menu. Currently long pressing menu button for me brings up search. I've tried changing line 217? I think that is search and that didn't work either. I've done some reading and this might require more than editing, possibly some decompiling
 
jrdejavux
Old
#13  
jrdejavux's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 475
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
How about making the back key the recent apps? the way it used to be
 
moose1313
Old
(Last edited by moose1313; 30th April 2014 at 04:14 AM.)
#14  
moose1313's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 228
Posts: 556
Join Date: Mar 2012
Never had a phone like that, for a long time now it's been menu is menu and long press is recent apps. Back is back and long press back is search. At least on phones I've add within last 2 years. I can play with it if any is interested having back button as recent apps.
Edit: to have back button be recent apps edit line 158 to APP_SWITCH.
The Following User Says Thank You to moose1313 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jrdejavux
Old
#15  
jrdejavux's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 475
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
you are right how about setting recent apps to menu and long press
 
CanadianKB
Old
#16  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 61
Join Date: Sep 2013
Unfortunately those zips didn't work for me. I'm on stock deodexed rooted etc rom flashed with twrp
 
blackknightavalon
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 396
Posts: 2,685
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Somewhere in NYC
Doesn't work. Good thing I made a backup and set permissions back.

Sent from my toaster
HTC Dream (G1) 12/2008-04/2010
Motorola MB200 (Cliq) 04/2010-11/2010
HTC Vision (G2) 11/2010-01/2014
HTC Doubleshot (MyTouch 4G Slide) 05/2011-06/2012
B&N Acclaim (Nook Tablet) 03/2012-12/2013
Samsung GT-I8190 (GS3 mini) 01/2013-04/2013
Samsung SGH-M919 (T-Mobile GS4) 04/2013-Backup
Samsung SM-V700 (Galaxy Gear) 12/2013-Current
Samsung N9005 (Int'l Galaxy Note 3) 12/2013-Current
Samsung SM-G900T (T-Mobile GS5) 04/2014-Current
 
moose1313
Old
#18  
moose1313's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 228
Posts: 556
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrdejavux View Post
you are right how about setting recent apps to menu and long press
Are you asking for recent apps to be the menu button long press ? That's what I was saying earlier, it's going to require a decompile not just a simple text edit. I think all long press actions are. I figure for now just use lmt or edit to enable on screen navigation bar.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more