Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,045 Members 38,362 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] XBMC and Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround

Tip us?
 
slevy951
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default [Q] XBMC and Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround

Apologies if this is in the wrong place...

Got the Firetv a week ago and have been playing around with it. Wanted it basically to play my movie collection from my PC over the network. I'm doing it with an xbox 360 right now but as you know the interface is....basic.

So FireTV is connected to my Pioneer vsk1120 via HDMI. I rented Walter Mitty from Amazon and it played fine and receiver indicated Dolby Digital Plus on the display the sound was good.

I loaded up XBMC. Pointed it to my PC and movies. XBMC is cool as it tell me the codec and audio it is. So I start Oblivion, receiver says Stereo. If I play it back via xbox, receiver will say Dolby Digital.

So Firetv only output digital on amazon content or any idea whats going on here?

TIA,
Scott
 
atoy74
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 453
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by slevy951 View Post
Apologies if this is in the wrong place...

Got the Firetv a week ago and have been playing around with it. Wanted it basically to play my movie collection from my PC over the network. I'm doing it with an xbox 360 right now but as you know the interface is....basic.

So FireTV is connected to my Pioneer vsk1120 via HDMI. I rented Walter Mitty from Amazon and it played fine and receiver indicated Dolby Digital Plus on the display the sound was good.

I loaded up XBMC. Pointed it to my PC and movies. XBMC is cool as it tell me the codec and audio it is. So I start Oblivion, receiver says Stereo. If I play it back via xbox, receiver will say Dolby Digital.

So Firetv only output digital on amazon content or any idea whats going on here?

TIA,
Scott
I would love to hear feedback on this. I originally returned my Fire TV due to plex being unable to play dolby digital audio. Now I'm sitting in front of my new Fire TV just delivered hoping XBMC solves the issue.
----------------------
PHONE-
Oneplus One 64GB Sandstone

Tablet-
Surface Pro 3
 
darkjedi
Old
#3  
darkjedi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 125
Posts: 1,204
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by slevy951 View Post
Apologies if this is in the wrong place...

Got the Firetv a week ago and have been playing around with it. Wanted it basically to play my movie collection from my PC over the network. I'm doing it with an xbox 360 right now but as you know the interface is....basic.

So FireTV is connected to my Pioneer vsk1120 via HDMI. I rented Walter Mitty from Amazon and it played fine and receiver indicated Dolby Digital Plus on the display the sound was good.

I loaded up XBMC. Pointed it to my PC and movies. XBMC is cool as it tell me the codec and audio it is. So I start Oblivion, receiver says Stereo. If I play it back via xbox, receiver will say Dolby Digital.

So Firetv only output digital on amazon content or any idea whats going on here?

TIA,
Scott
Make sure you enable the option for "Supports Dolby Digital" and "Supports DTS" in the settings. I can get DD and DTS working just fine.
 
slevy951
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkjedi View Post
Make sure you enable the option for "Supports Dolby Digital" and "Supports DTS" in the settings. I can get DD and DTS working just fine.
Where in settings? I can go to system/system settings/audio output...but those options arent' there. And I do have the Firetv set to Dolby Digital Plus over HDMI.
 
darkjedi
Old
#5  
darkjedi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 125
Posts: 1,204
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by slevy951 View Post
Where in settings? I can go to system/system settings/audio output...but those options arent' there. And I do have the Firetv set to Dolby Digital Plus over HDMI.
I'm not at home now, but I believe it's under Settings, Video and you should see the option for Passthrough.
 
slevy951
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Mar 2009
Version issue??

I orig loaded the 'amazon firetv' optimized version. I uninstalled that and go the latest nightly and it has the enable dd and dts options. That did the trick. Xbox's days may be numbered.
 
atoy74
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 453
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkjedi View Post
I'm not at home now, but I believe it's under Settings, Video and you should see the option for Passthrough.
Bingo. I didn't get a chance to update last night but I unboxed and installed XBMC. Initially 5.1 did not work. I found the passthrough setting and everything worked fine.
----------------------
PHONE-
Oneplus One 64GB Sandstone

Tablet-
Surface Pro 3
 
floepie
Old
#8  
floepie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 341
Posts: 1,686
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Amsterdam
Wait, so which version of XBMC has the passthrough setting to enable DD and DTS to the receiver without first decoding?
XDA needs a "2nd Post Wiki" automatically generated in each thread. Such a thread wiki has proven effective on other sites to cut down on useless thread clutter and questions which have been answered repeatedly. The idea is simple. A community-editable wiki is inserted immediately beneath the OP to address current issues relating to the topic. Most OP/devs don't have the time to continually update their OP to address ongoing issues. Let's let the community do that for them!
 
slevy951
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 34
Join Date: Mar 2009
I'm running.....

xbmc-20140419-51d4cbd-Gotham-armeabi-v7a.apk

from....

http://mirrors.xbmc.org/nightlies/android/arm/

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes