ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Samsung galaxy s4 (i337m) rogers root fail! Possible brick!

OP djkaozz

29th April 2014, 04:48 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
OK first off I going to express my deepest apologies for starting a thread with an issue that has probably been answered 100 times... My problem is that I have tried every possible phrase that I know for search term pertaining to my particular issue and I am still stuck. SO I will be as details as possible and I hope and pray that at LEAST if I get kicked for starting this and the thread being shutdown, that someone will have posted "heres the link numb nuts be more careful next time".

OK so on with my issue. I have a Rogers Samsung Galaxy S4 I337M on 4.3, I tried to use chainfire's latest cf-Autoroot to root my phone and it just failed. Here is the log:

<ID:0/004> Added!!
<OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
<OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
<OSM> Please wait..
<OSM> CF-Auto-Root-jfltecan-jfltevl-sghi337m.tar.md5 is valid.
<OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
<OSM> Leave CS..
<ID:0/004> Odin v.3 engine (ID:4)..
<ID:0/004> File analysis..
<ID:0/004> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/004> Initialzation..
<ID:0/004> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/004> There is no PIT partition.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)
<ID:0/004> Removed!!
<ID:0/004> Added!!
<ID:0/004> Odin v.3 engine (ID:4)..
<ID:0/004> File analysis..
<ID:0/004> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/004> Initialzation..
<ID:0/004> Set PIT file..
<ID:0/004> DO NOT TURN OFF TARGET!!
<ID:0/004> Complete(Write) operation failed.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)
<ID:0/004> Removed!!
<ID:0/004> Added!!

As you can see when odin could not find the PIT I downloaded one and retried.

Anyway now I'm stuck on this:

and the top left may be important so here is the clearest shot of that:

Now I have tried to flash stock firmware that I downloaded from sammobile AND samsung update and no matter how many times I try to flash its the same thing over and over again (log):

<OSM> Enter CS for MD5..
<OSM> Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
<OSM> Please wait..
<OSM> I337MVLUEMK6_I337MOYAEMK6_I337MVLUEMK6_HOME.tar.md 5 is valid.
<OSM> Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
<OSM> Leave CS..
<ID:0/004> Added!!
<ID:0/004> Odin v.3 engine (ID:4)..
<ID:0/004> File analysis..
<ID:0/004> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/004> Initialzation..
<ID:0/004> Set PIT file..
<ID:0/004> DO NOT TURN OFF TARGET!!
<ID:0/004> Complete(Write) operation failed.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)
<ID:0/004> Removed!!
<ID:0/004> Added!!

I then thought about trying Kies. First problem, Emergency firmware did not list my device. Then I tried firmware upgrade and initialize and even though the start button wouldn't show unless I plugged the phone in as download mode, once the firmware was finished downloading and ready to flash it would give me an error saying it couldn't not detect my device.

I am not sure is this is EVERYTHING I could have tried but to MY knowledge it is. Please help

And my deepest gratitude to anyway and all who point me to the right direction. I hope I have been as detailed as I possibly can be.
Last edited by djkaozz; 29th April 2014 at 05:09 PM.
29th April 2014, 05:36 PM   |  #2  
mattdm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 439
 
1,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djkaozz

And my deepest gratitude to anyway and all who point me to the right direction. I hope I have been as detailed as I possibly can be.

Point you to the right direction, huh? How about the Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting subforum? Posting questions like this in the development subforum is a no-no.
The Following User Says Thank You to mattdm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2014, 06:42 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdm

Point you to the right direction, huh? How about the Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting subforum? Posting questions like this in the development subforum is a no-no.

This is a start, my apologies AND a big thank you!
The Following User Says Thank You to djkaozz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th April 2014, 09:38 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Saskatoon
Thanks Meter: 19
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
i encountered this before. although i cannot remember how i fixed it. few things to try though.

option A: download a stock rom from sammobile it is pretty straight forward on the site to select the correct stock rom. be careful when selecting though. make sure you get the correct version to match the bootloader. ex download the 4.4.2 stock rom from rogers if you had 4.4.2. the rom from sammobile is odin flash only. so put it in the pda and make sure your phone is in download mode if you can get to it

option B: if you cant get to download mode then you will have to try the firmware emergency recovery option on the actual samsung keis program. I cannot remember the steps for this but a google search should give directions

if either of these work you will be brought back to square one where you can start the root process over again. this time try a different rooting method. just incase.
30th April 2014, 01:24 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddyjohn

i encountered this before. although i cannot remember how i fixed it. few things to try though.

option A: download a stock rom from sammobile it is pretty straight forward on the site to select the correct stock rom. be careful when selecting though. make sure you get the correct version to match the bootloader. ex download the 4.4.2 stock rom from rogers if you had 4.4.2. the rom from sammobile is odin flash only. so put it in the pda and make sure your phone is in download mode if you can get to it

option B: if you cant get to download mode then you will have to try the firmware emergency recovery option on the actual samsung keis program. I cannot remember the steps for this but a google search should give directions

if either of these work you will be brought back to square one where you can start the root process over again. this time try a different rooting method. just incase.

the problem is i did this and no matter what i am getting the results that are posted in the log above.

any other suggestions out there?

i appreciate the responses so far. thank you
30th April 2014, 02:09 AM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Saskatoon
Thanks Meter: 19
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Did you try the option that doesn't involve Odin? Also try changing USB cables

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk
30th April 2014, 04:35 AM   |  #7  
Adizzzle's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kamloops
Thanks Meter: 1,160
 
2,149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
More
Use a different computer?
30th April 2014, 02:39 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adizzzle

Use a different computer?

thats another option i have tried to no success. it seems that even with the pit file its failing but no reason as to why
30th April 2014, 04:17 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
FIXED!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by djkaozz

thats another option i have tried to no success. it seems that even with the pit file its failing but no reason as to why

wow.... i fixed it... the solution is SO STUPID that embarrassed to say it.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes