Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,783,129 Members 45,665 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] only thing on phone is Twrp - HELP

Tip us?
 
rnh
Old
#21  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 55
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestrangebrew View Post
For whatever reason, my phone was in the same situation as yours where I could only reboot into twrp. I found a pretty easy solution below:

before trying anything else just type in these commands

What worked for me was from the TWRP terminal command was to type

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/fota

then hit enter

type

dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/misc

then hit enter and reboot.

got help from the IRC xda-devs for the second step to complete the fix.



It worked for me and now my phone seems to be running normal. The whole thread is located here:

http://forums.androidcentral.com/gen...load-mode.html


I think my phone somehow took the OTA while I had KK rooted installed. I plugged in my device to charge and got up to get a drink and when I came back my friend's cat was playing with the charger cable and my phone was in twrp. Went the whole weekend on vacation without my phone. It was rough. All seems well now.

Edit: I think I had to enter everything in twice. 1st time it worked but then rebooted back into twrp on it's own, the 2nd time it worked. Hope it helps.
Thanls thestrangebrew, but the phone has nothing on it except twrp - no files or os at all, so unfortunately that procedure won't work.
 
rnh
Old
#22  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 55
Join Date: May 2008
This is what happens when I try to sideload a zip Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398691996964.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	39.3 KB
ID:	2713711

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
 
jas0nnn
Old
(Last edited by jas0nnn; 30th April 2014 at 08:13 PM.)
#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnh View Post
This is what happens when I try to sideload a zip Attachment 2713711

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
Try "adb push" to push the .zip into the phone.

adb push <local> <remote>

<local> is the something like "C:\path\to\file.zip"
<remote> is "/location/where/you/want/your/file.zip"

both without the quotes.

Sent from my LG-VS980 using XDA Free mobile app
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes