MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Would loading a new rom take away the T-Mob VOIP feature?

OP mkhopper

23rd April 2014, 07:15 PM   |  #1  
mkhopper's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
I've had the M8 now for about a week and finally had a chance to really sit down and toy around with it last night.
4G speeds in my area are so fast that I wasn't really missing wifi, but I flipped it on so I could connect to my access point.

A message came up that said that all voice and text traffic would now take place over my wifi network rather than the cell network. A very cool feature indeed. My question is though.... once I've rooted, if I flash a new rom, would I lose that voip functionality? I'm assuming yes, but I'm just asking to be sure.
23rd April 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #2  
VolcanicSkunk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 233
 
966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Only if you flash an AOSP ROM or a Sense ROM that is not from T-Mobile would you lose that functionality.

Sent from my HTC One M8
The Following User Says Thank You to VolcanicSkunk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd April 2014, 09:07 PM   |  #3  
JaY iZz BaKk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 32
 
539 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Yeah it would have to be a T-Mobile US based sense rom. Even a sense rom from a different carrier/WWE would make you lose the functionality
24th April 2014, 04:19 AM   |  #4  
SmiLey497's Avatar
Senior Member
SF, CA - NYC
Thanks Meter: 355
 
896 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Some WWE ROMs have Wi-Fi calling included you have to make sure you download the right one

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
30th April 2014, 06:00 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmiLey497

Some WWE ROMs have Wi-Fi calling included you have to make sure you download the right one

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Is there a list of t-mobile roms?
30th April 2014, 08:00 PM   |  #6  
saldebot's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 717
 
1,064 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by njhardc0re

Is there a list of t-mobile roms?

Go HERE and search thru the ROM's that have wifi calling baked in.
The Following User Says Thank You to saldebot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes