Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,733 Members 53,815 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Just got the 2.5GHz Unlocked M8, T-mobile compatibility?

Tip us?
 
Sonic2756
Old
#1  
Sonic2756's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 481
Posts: 277
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver
Default [Q] Just got the 2.5GHz Unlocked M8, T-mobile compatibility?

Ordered this phone off of amazon thinking I was getting the standard unlocked version. Turns out I got the 2.5GHz Asian model. Is there anything I should be worried about in regards to T-Mobile compatibility?
VZW HTC M8 S-OFF'd via my Java Card
Stock 4.4
VZW HTC One S-OFF'd via Java Card
Stock 4.4
T-Mobile HTC One converted to GPE
Stock 4.4
 
JaY iZz BaKk
Old
#2  
JaY iZz BaKk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 537
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York City
Might not have AWS enabled....check for it 1700 band
 
Sonic2756
Old
#3  
Sonic2756's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 481
Posts: 277
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaY iZz BaKk View Post
Might not have AWS enabled....check for it 1700 band
No AWS and no 1900. Looks like I'm gonna have to send it back.
VZW HTC M8 S-OFF'd via my Java Card
Stock 4.4
VZW HTC One S-OFF'd via Java Card
Stock 4.4
T-Mobile HTC One converted to GPE
Stock 4.4
 
subhumanderelict
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 79
Posts: 259
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, Il
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonic2756 View Post
Ordered this phone off of amazon thinking I was getting the standard unlocked version. Turns out I got the 2.5GHz Asian model. Is there anything I should be worried about in regards to T-Mobile compatibility?
Are you sure it's the Asian model? Both the Asian and EMEA models can connect to 2600 MHz LTE.

The Asian model can do 700 MHz LTE (unlike the EMEA model), but T-Mobile will not begin rolling out their 700 MHz network until later this year. In any case, you'd want a model that picked up AWS so you can use T-Mobile's nationwide LTE band.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaY iZz BaKk View Post
Might not have AWS enabled....check for it 1700 band
Keep in mind that AWS consists of both 1700 MHz (uplink) and 2100 MHz (downlink). If you have a carrier that has either 1700 or 2100 (but not both), the phone might detect the carrier, but wouldn't be able to use it.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes