Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Just got the 2.5GHz Unlocked M8, T-mobile compatibility?

OP Sonic2756

30th April 2014, 02:14 AM   |  #1  
Sonic2756's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 481
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Ordered this phone off of amazon thinking I was getting the standard unlocked version. Turns out I got the 2.5GHz Asian model. Is there anything I should be worried about in regards to T-Mobile compatibility?
30th April 2014, 04:04 AM   |  #2  
JaY iZz BaKk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 32
 
539 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Might not have AWS enabled....check for it 1700 band
30th April 2014, 04:38 AM   |  #3  
Sonic2756's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 481
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaY iZz BaKk

Might not have AWS enabled....check for it 1700 band

No AWS and no 1900. Looks like I'm gonna have to send it back.
30th April 2014, 08:53 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, Il
Thanks Meter: 79
 
259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonic2756

Ordered this phone off of amazon thinking I was getting the standard unlocked version. Turns out I got the 2.5GHz Asian model. Is there anything I should be worried about in regards to T-Mobile compatibility?

Are you sure it's the Asian model? Both the Asian and EMEA models can connect to 2600 MHz LTE.

The Asian model can do 700 MHz LTE (unlike the EMEA model), but T-Mobile will not begin rolling out their 700 MHz network until later this year. In any case, you'd want a model that picked up AWS so you can use T-Mobile's nationwide LTE band.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaY iZz BaKk

Might not have AWS enabled....check for it 1700 band

Keep in mind that AWS consists of both 1700 MHz (uplink) and 2100 MHz (downlink). If you have a carrier that has either 1700 or 2100 (but not both), the phone might detect the carrier, but wouldn't be able to use it.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes