Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Issues with 4g

OP DREWHAMM974

28th April 2014, 03:20 AM   |  #1  
DREWHAMM974's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Athens, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 582
 
709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Okay all, I've got a T-Mobile M8 S-Off and Sim Unlocked using it on Straight Talk AT&T Sim. If I switch to LTE only I keep amazing 4G service but if I don't over half the time in the same area I'm on H. Any idea why this is? Is there a setting I'm missing somewhere that switches to H if the LTE goes below a certain strength? With my Nexus 5 I never lose it so I am wondering also since I can set it as 4g only and keep service (but can't call out on LTE only setting) All help is appreciated.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
28th April 2014, 01:00 PM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Flag Dhaka
Thanks Meter: 23
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
https://at800.tv/find-out-more/the-problem/
i thing it may help you.
28th April 2014, 01:39 PM   |  #3  
DREWHAMM974's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Athens, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 582
 
709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewnelson

https://at800.tv/find-out-more/the-problem/
i thing it may help you.

That's about a UK cable provider possibly getting service disrupted due to 4G rolling out? Not sure how that helps? Maybe wrong link?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
30th April 2014, 09:05 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, Il
Thanks Meter: 79
 
259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DREWHAMM974

Okay all, I've got a T-Mobile M8 S-Off and Sim Unlocked using it on Straight Talk AT&T Sim. If I switch to LTE only I keep amazing 4G service but if I don't over half the time in the same area I'm on H. Any idea why this is? Is there a setting I'm missing somewhere that switches to H if the LTE goes below a certain strength? With my Nexus 5 I never lose it so I am wondering also since I can set it as 4g only and keep service (but can't call out on LTE only setting) All help is appreciated.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Just to make sure we're on the same page here, are you using the *#*#4636#*#* menu? If so, which settings have you tried?

On my Sprint M7, we had a similar issue where it would work great with "LTE only" selected from the menu, but that would mean no calls or texts. "LTE, CDMA" would hold LTE longer than the default setting (CDMA + LTE/EvDo auto) and allow for calls/texts, but if we lost LTE, we'd be stuck with 1X data.

If you haven't yet, try the "LTE, WCDMA" setting.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes