Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

TWRP and the warranty counter

OP edo101

29th April 2014, 06:07 AM   |  #11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by OvrDriVE

what is it exactly that your trying to do. i assume it's not pop your warrenty counter. i also assume your on 4.3. from my own personal experience installing a custom rom kind of requires a custom recovery as you will want to do a backup. i also suggest using an app called samsungtool v 2.0 to backup your efs partition just in case. instructions related to installing a custom rom can be found in any rom thread on here. for the most part it's the same for every rom with exception to a few. but again you do all this on your own. btw this will pop your warrenty counter but if your sure about what your doing and your warrenty is up. might as well pop it.

what is the efs partition?
29th April 2014, 06:25 AM   |  #12  
OvrDriVE's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
efs holds all your t-mobile settings. or at&t or whichever company you go through. backing it up is just a precautionary thing. you do it just in case it gets messed up so you can restore it

i found the program i mentioned works and can restore it from your backed up file so
29th April 2014, 10:47 AM   |  #13  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 809
 
2,057 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Flashing almost any custom ROM will increment the flash counter on any GN2. If you have the Knox bootloader it will also pop the Knox warranty bit.

The flash counter can be reset by using triangle away. No biggie. Knox can't be reset at this time. I avoid doing anything that would install the 4.3 Knox enabled bootloader it at all possible. If I need to return to stock for whatever reason I simple flash MrRobinson's root66 ROM (stock plus root) and triangle away my flash counter clean then unroot my phone to stock. No way to tell I was not on official firmware with it.

TWRP is not an application. It is a custom recovery like CWM etc. It can functionally do anything the stock recovery can and more. You have to use a custom recovery to flash a custom ROM on the gn2 with very few exceptions.

Stock recovery can be restored via an Odin flash of root66 or the Sammy stock ROM. I usually do root66 so triangle away can clean up the counter and still have stock recovery so as to avoid incrementing the counter after clearing it.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
29th April 2014, 11:29 AM   |  #14  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76

Flashing almost any custom ROM will increment the flash counter on any GN2. If you have the Knox bootloader it will also pop the Knox warranty bit.

The flash counter can be reset by using triangle away. No biggie. Knox can't be reset at this time. I avoid doing anything that would install the 4.3 Knox enabled bootloader it at all possible. If I need to return to stock for whatever reason I simple flash MrRobinson's root66 ROM (stock plus root) and triangle away my flash counter clean then unroot my phone to stock. No way to tell I was not on official firmware with it.

TWRP is not an application. It is a custom recovery like CWM etc. It can functionally do anything the stock recovery can and more. You have to use a custom recovery to flash a custom ROM on the gn2 with very few exceptions.

Stock recovery can be restored via an Odin flash of root66 or the Sammy stock ROM. I usually do root66 so triangle away can clean up the counter and still have stock recovery so as to avoid incrementing the counter after clearing it.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement

Any tips as to why my 4G Modem is not working with the Sky Note 4.3 based ROM. Everything else is working except for the modem. I'm still on 4.1.2 BL it looks like (not sure how to check) but my mobile stuff is in tact. It just says mobile network state (disconnected) but all my phone info is correct. It even still has my MetroPCS/Tmo as my Network
29th April 2014, 12:03 PM   |  #15  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 809
 
2,057 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101

Any tips as to why my 4G Modem is not working with the Sky Note 4.3 based ROM. Everything else is working except for the modem. I'm still on 4.1.2 BL it looks like (not sure how to check) but my mobile stuff is in tact. It just says mobile network state (disconnected) but all my phone info is correct. It even still has my MetroPCS/Tmo as my Network

Probably that your APN is wrong.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
29th April 2014, 05:32 PM   |  #16  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coug76

Probably that your APN is wrong.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement

You were right. I googled Metro APN and now its working. THANK YOU!!

Btw any chance you know how to change my phone to read as a Tmobile phone instead of AT&T?
30th April 2014, 05:33 AM   |  #17  
Coug76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East of Seattle
Thanks Meter: 809
 
2,057 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101

You were right. I googled Metro APN and now its working. THANK YOU!!

Btw any chance you know how to change my phone to read as a Tmobile phone instead of AT&T?

Build.prop edit. Do a nandroid backup first, if you make a mistake you can have problems. Reboot into android. Save a copy of the file as build.bak then edit the build.prop so that any reference to SGH-i317 is changed to SGH-T889. Also anything that shows t0lte or anything similar can be changed to t0ltetmo. There are editor apps in the play store.

If things go bad, simply restore back to your nandroid via recovery. No fuss, no muss.

Hastily spouted for your befuddlement
Last edited by Coug76; 30th April 2014 at 04:49 PM.
30th April 2014, 01:43 PM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 229
 
772 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by OvrDriVE

i also suggest using an app called samsungtool v 2.0 to backup your efs partition just in case.

Can you please give us a link to this tool, coz' it looks like a good tool to have.

Thanks.

Sent from my SGH-T889 using xda premium
30th April 2014, 09:12 PM   |  #19  
OvrDriVE's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by premiatul

Can you please give us a link to this tool, coz' it looks like a good tool to have.

Thanks.

Sent from my SGH-T889 using xda premium

http://forum.xda-developers.com/gala...l-1-0-t2602325

current version is 5.0

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes