Post Reply

[Q] Country Code in KK ROMs

OP jcmcg1

30th April 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Durham, NC
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I've just updated my GP5 to the BEANSTALK KK ROM. As with the other KK ROMS I've tried, the MAC address is set (and can be changed) in the nvram_net.txt file in the vendor folder, rather than by the EFS folder. The question I have is about the country code (ccode)in the same nvram_net.txt file. In the three KK ROMs I've tried, it is set to KR. Does this overide other settings on the GP5, and would changing it to US cause any problems?
30th April 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #2  
henk5066's Avatar
Member
Flag Northborough
Thanks Meter: 20
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmcg1

I've just updated my GP5 to the BEANSTALK KK ROM. As with the other KK ROMS I've tried, the MAC address is set (and can be changed) in the nvram_net.txt file in the vendor folder, rather than by the EFS folder. The question I have is about the country code (ccode)in the same nvram_net.txt file. In the three KK ROMs I've tried, it is set to KR. Does this overide other settings on the GP5, and would changing it to US cause any problems?

it might due to the fact that the international and american versions of the device have different hardware.
30th April 2014, 08:21 PM   |  #3  
Meticulus's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Springfield
Thanks Meter: 1,917
 
1,244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmcg1

I've just updated my GP5 to the BEANSTALK KK ROM. As with the other KK ROMS I've tried, the MAC address is set (and can be changed) in the nvram_net.txt file in the vendor folder, rather than by the EFS folder. The question I have is about the country code (ccode)in the same nvram_net.txt file. In the three KK ROMs I've tried, it is set to KR. Does this overide other settings on the GP5, and would changing it to US cause any problems?

I am not 100% on this info but as I understand it, the country code, as it pertains to wifi, determines the regulatory domain. Some other countries use 14 frequencies ( or bands ) for Wifi and here in the U.S. we only use 13 frequencies. Basically, setting the country code causes the wifi driver to be compliant with the radio frequency regulations of that country.

From a practical stand point, I doubt that you'd notice any difference in changing the country code at all. The wifi driver simply would omit signals running on the 14th frequency which are not used by wireless routers sold in the U.S. anyways...

The reason that it's set to KR, is most likely because, during the initial bring up from Gingerbread to ICS, someone pulled that nvram_net.txt file from a Korean device, and we've been using it ever since.

Edit: more info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_WLAN_channels
Last edited by Meticulus; 30th April 2014 at 08:33 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Meticulus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes