Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,777,659 Members 43,826 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Country Code in KK ROMs

Tip us?
 
jcmcg1
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Durham, NC
Question [Q] Country Code in KK ROMs

I've just updated my GP5 to the BEANSTALK KK ROM. As with the other KK ROMS I've tried, the MAC address is set (and can be changed) in the nvram_net.txt file in the vendor folder, rather than by the EFS folder. The question I have is about the country code (ccode)in the same nvram_net.txt file. In the three KK ROMs I've tried, it is set to KR. Does this overide other settings on the GP5, and would changing it to US cause any problems?
 
henk5066
Old
#2  
henk5066's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 97
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northborough

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmcg1 View Post
I've just updated my GP5 to the BEANSTALK KK ROM. As with the other KK ROMS I've tried, the MAC address is set (and can be changed) in the nvram_net.txt file in the vendor folder, rather than by the EFS folder. The question I have is about the country code (ccode)in the same nvram_net.txt file. In the three KK ROMs I've tried, it is set to KR. Does this overide other settings on the GP5, and would changing it to US cause any problems?
it might due to the fact that the international and american versions of the device have different hardware.
When in doubt, RESET.




Samsung galaxy player 4.0 (rooted cyanogenmod 11.0)
Samsung galaxy player 3.6 (unrooted stock)
2 Motorola Droid X (no carrier tie, rooted, cyanogenmod 11.0)
ASUS Google Nexus 7 (2013 qualcomm revision unrooted)
Apple Ipod Touch 1g (jailbroken via blackra1n and whitd00r)
Att LG Expression (just a phone nothing special here)

Proud member of FIRST Robotics Team 1100
http://www.team1100.org
http://usfirst.org
 
Meticulus
Old
(Last edited by Meticulus; 30th April 2014 at 08:33 PM.)
#3  
Meticulus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1605
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Springfield

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmcg1 View Post
I've just updated my GP5 to the BEANSTALK KK ROM. As with the other KK ROMS I've tried, the MAC address is set (and can be changed) in the nvram_net.txt file in the vendor folder, rather than by the EFS folder. The question I have is about the country code (ccode)in the same nvram_net.txt file. In the three KK ROMs I've tried, it is set to KR. Does this overide other settings on the GP5, and would changing it to US cause any problems?
I am not 100% on this info but as I understand it, the country code, as it pertains to wifi, determines the regulatory domain. Some other countries use 14 frequencies ( or bands ) for Wifi and here in the U.S. we only use 13 frequencies. Basically, setting the country code causes the wifi driver to be compliant with the radio frequency regulations of that country.

From a practical stand point, I doubt that you'd notice any difference in changing the country code at all. The wifi driver simply would omit signals running on the 14th frequency which are not used by wireless routers sold in the U.S. anyways...

The reason that it's set to KR, is most likely because, during the initial bring up from Gingerbread to ICS, someone pulled that nvram_net.txt file from a Korean device, and we've been using it ever since.

Edit: more info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_WLAN_channels


Development Projects @ meticulus.co.vu
Carbon ROM for Samsung Galaxy Exhibit / Ace 2e
Carbon ROM for Samsung Galaxy Player 5
Carbon ROM for Hisense Sero 7 Pro

Pro Tip
Tom Cruise's greatest acting role: Les Grossman - Tropic Thunder"
The Following User Says Thank You to Meticulus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes