Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,359 Members 41,232 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Any idea how to fix this issue? I'm a noobie who has been trying to trouble shoot

Tip us?
 
Surgemidnight13
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 10
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default [Q] Any idea how to fix this issue? I'm a noobie who has been trying to trouble shoot

I posted this on the Sprint Note 2 forum as well so I hope this isn't taken as me spamming

I have a Sph-L900 Sprint Galaxy Note 2. About a month ago the device started acting up Saying it couldn't connect to my Samsung Account, and the only way I was able to fix it was a factory reset. That soon turned into not being able to connect to my Google account and knox issues where something was trying to access my device administrator, and the only fix was to keep updating the samsung security police. The device began shutting off and restarting about two to three times a day with the same error notifications popping up on start up. I kept doing a factory reset in order to get ride of the issues but would reappear shortly after.

I have never tried to root my phone because I wanted to wait for my contract to be up before messing around with it.The most I have done is install a few 3rd party apps and use the google launcher apk as my everyday launcher. Eventually because it keep restarting so often I thought I would try to put cyanogenmod on it using the installer app.Unfortunately it kept saying it couldn't communicate with my device and had to abandon that option. A few hours later the phone restarted again but this time became stuck on the Samsung Galaxy Note 2 logo on start up. I tried to another factory reset hoping that would fix it but this is what happened

Click image for larger version

Name:	note 2 error.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	128.2 KB
ID:	2714536

The whole thing is in red and keeps saying error and fail.

I have no idea what the issue being a noob, but started looking through forums and posts hoping to get an answer. I thought trying to reload the stock rom might be my best bet and started looking into how to unbrick the phone on youtube and forums.

I downloaded Odin and tried [ROM][ODIN]SPH-L900 MK4 (MK4 Modem/Kernel/Bootloader/ROM - Full Restore - Unrooted), Galaxynote2root.com, and QBking77 methods and files for putting factory stock rom back on the phone. I spent all day trying each one only to get "nand write start fail" when trying each tar file on odin.

I wanted to see if someone might actually be able to explain to me the exact issue and hopefully a possible solution.
 
aka_sirok
Old
#2  
aka_sirok's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 218
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: lleida
try entering download mode and connect it to kies and run the emergency firmware reset or something like that (it will ask you some numbers that are writen in the battery slot) try disabling antivirus also, it should work.

best,
aka_sirok

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk
 
toulan
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 14
Join Date: Apr 2013
When you tried to flash the stock with odin did you re-partition?
The Following User Says Thank You to toulan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
92MB
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 44
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default Upgrading to KITKAT on rooted Note II

Hi all, I want to install french KITKAT Rom through Odin. Before doing that I want to factory rest it with out external memory card, I believe if I do not do it, it would wipe off all the data from it. Is it possible to reset with out the card ?

Thanks for your help.
 
Surgemidnight13
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 10
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by toulan View Post
When you tried to flash the stock with odin did you re-partition?
I didn't re-partition. I keep hearing i need a Pit file for that. Plus A) haven't found one and B) not really sure of the process of how to do so since the videos online keep saying not to select it
 
singhpratik87
Old
#6  
singhpratik87's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,600
Posts: 2,660
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzbeg View Post
Hi all, I want to install french KITKAT Rom through Odin. Before doing that I want to factory rest it with out external memory card, I believe if I do not do it, it would wipe off all the data from it. Is it possible to reset with out the card ?

Thanks for your help.
Why would you butt in with your question in this thread when the OP's concern is no where close to what your query is,so please post your question in the thread that pertains to it or make a new thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more

Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more